Swift or Free Actions in the middle of a Full Attack


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

So I am proficient with Dorn Dergar and have taken both Dorn Dergar Master and Darting Viper.

The scenario is that I am attacking with one DD at adjacent range and one at reach. i attack one adjacent creature and kill it, but did not call that I am fighting 2 weapon style. Can I free action drop one of my DD to grasp the other in both hands to attack an enemy at reach? Can I free action drop and swift action change my adjacent DD to reach?

Does this make sense?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yes. In fact I think if. You took the penalty for twf but received no extra attacks it still works.

Sovereign Court

Mojorat wrote:
Yes. In fact I think if. You took the penalty for twf but received no extra attacks it still works.

How about as an iterative attack?


Yes, there is a FAQ on using multiple weapons without TWF. Short answer is yes as long as you are getting no additional attacks you may use any number of weapons.

Yes you can use free actions in the middle of a full attack. Otherwise you could not full attack with a bow.


You should call at beginning of round how you are fighting or assumed to be fighting same as last round or as you always do (default style).

If your circumstance occurred differently would you have been fighting 2Hs? really! Its seems like party/DM knows your game and you are trying to cry foul.

State intent before action and there is no issue otherwise DMs word goes.

Sovereign Court

insaneogeddon wrote:

You should call at beginning of round how you are fighting or assumed to be fighting same as last round or as you always do (default style).

If your circumstance occurred differently would you have been fighting 2Hs? really! Its seems like party/DM knows your game and you are trying to cry foul.

State intent before action and there is no issue otherwise DMs word goes.

Actually this scenario has not come up in game yet. thanks for your assumptions.

I have built a DD fighter and am getting DD Master my next level and Darting Viper the level after that, that will get me to +6 BAB. My idea is to fight in both 2 hand and 2 weapon style as needed. When in 2 weapon I will keep 1 with reach and the other as adjacent

I was thinking about a scenario where I am in 2 weapon, I strike with out calling out I was to fight 2 weaponstyle, so no 2 weapon penalties. I strike down my first target but still have my iterative attack left and no one left adjacent.

Sooooo......

Can I drop my reach DD (free action), grip my adjacent DD (free action) and switch DD from adjacent to reach (swift action) before I take my iterative attack?


OilHorse wrote:
insaneogeddon wrote:

You should call at beginning of round how you are fighting or assumed to be fighting same as last round or as you always do (default style).

If your circumstance occurred differently would you have been fighting 2Hs? really! Its seems like party/DM knows your game and you are trying to cry foul.

State intent before action and there is no issue otherwise DMs word goes.

Actually this scenario has not come up in game yet. thanks for your assumptions.

I have built a DD fighter and am getting DD Master my next level and Darting Viper the level after that, that will get me to +6 BAB. My idea is to fight in both 2 hand and 2 weapon style as needed. When in 2 weapon I will keep 1 with reach and the other as adjacent

I was thinking about a scenario where I am in 2 weapon, I strike with out calling out I was to fight 2 weaponstyle, so no 2 weapon penalties. I strike down my first target but still have my iterative attack left and no one left adjacent.

Sooooo......

Can I drop my reach DD (free action), grip my adjacent DD (free action) and switch DD from adjacent to reach (swift action) before I take my iterative attack?

Yes, or you could hit him again with the currently reach DD.

Grand Lodge

thorin001 wrote:


Yes you can use free actions in the middle of a full attack. Otherwise you could not full attack with a bow.

While true that you can use free actions in iteratives, it is a non issue for bows, as pulling an arrow is a "does not require an action" (not a free action.) (otherwise feats that would allow you to fire as an AoO would be a problem, because you could not draw outside your turn.)


FLite wrote:
thorin001 wrote:


Yes you can use free actions in the middle of a full attack. Otherwise you could not full attack with a bow.
While true that you can use free actions in iteratives, it is a non issue for bows, as pulling an arrow is a "does not require an action" (not a free action.) (otherwise feats that would allow you to fire as an AoO would be a problem, because you could not draw outside your turn.)

Actually, they changed the language in the 5th or 6th printing I believe it was...

PRD wrote:
When using a bow, a character can draw ammunition as a free action; crossbows and slings require an action for reloading (as noted in their descriptions).

It came to light about the same time they tried to list a "reasonable" number of free actions a round during the weapon cord debates.

Sovereign Court

Sniggevert wrote:
Yes, or you could hit him again with the currently reach DD.

Just to be clear.

I can attack as a part of my attacks due to high BAB with both weapons I am wielding. I have 1 DD out in reach and another in adjacent mode. With my +6/+1 iterative attacks I can attack with each once...with no 2 weapon penalties?

Grand Lodge

Sniggevert wrote:

PRD wrote:
When using a bow, a character can draw ammunition as a free action; crossbows and slings require an action for reloading (as noted in their descriptions).
It came to light about the same time they tried to list a "reasonable" number of free actions a round during the weapon cord debates.

Huh. that must have come up after I got tired of listening to people argue.

Grand Lodge

OilHorse wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:
Yes, or you could hit him again with the currently reach DD.

Just to be clear.

I can attack as a part of my attacks due to high BAB with both weapons I am wielding. I have 1 DD out in reach and another in adjacent mode. With my +6/+1 iterative attacks I can attack with each once...with no 2 weapon penalties?

Yes, also with your usual Strength bonus to damage for a one-handed weapon to each one. You have no off hand in this action.


Starglim wrote:
OilHorse wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:
Yes, or you could hit him again with the currently reach DD.

Just to be clear.

I can attack as a part of my attacks due to high BAB with both weapons I am wielding. I have 1 DD out in reach and another in adjacent mode. With my +6/+1 iterative attacks I can attack with each once...with no 2 weapon penalties?

Yes, also with your usual Strength bonus to damage for a one-handed weapon to each one. You have no off hand in this action.

This

Sovereign Court

Starglim wrote:
OilHorse wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:
Yes, or you could hit him again with the currently reach DD.

Just to be clear.

I can attack as a part of my attacks due to high BAB with both weapons I am wielding. I have 1 DD out in reach and another in adjacent mode. With my +6/+1 iterative attacks I can attack with each once...with no 2 weapon penalties?

Yes, also with your usual Strength bonus to damage for a one-handed weapon to each one. You have no off hand in this action.

That made me pitch a tent.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Swift or Free Actions in the middle of a Full Attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions