Graul Ogrekin


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


If you roll a 4 and then defeat them, and close the location where do they end up?


The steps would be Defeat him, Put him at the bottom of the deck, Roll to close the location. So, he's in the deck when you close the location meaning he's gone with all the other cards there. You have to finish the encounter completely before moving on to the next step, and his ability is part of that encounter which is why that triggers before the closing roll.


Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

They end up on the bottom of the location deck.

When you close a location after defeating a henchmen, the location deck remains at the closed location.

(Actually, first you check the location deck to see if there is a villain; if so, all the non-villain cards in the location deck, including the Graul Ogrekin, are banished and the location remains open with just the villain there. But if there is no villain, the deck remains intact at the closed location - shuffle, since you just looked through it to see if there was a villain, then put the Graul Ogrekin at the bottom.)


Cintra Bristol wrote:

They end up on the bottom of the location deck.

When you close a location after defeating a henchmen, the location deck remains at the closed location.

(Actually, first you check the location deck to see if there is a villain; if so, all the non-villain cards in the location deck, including the Graul Ogrekin, are banished and the location remains open with just the villain there. But if there is no villain, the deck remains intact at the closed location - shuffle, since you just looked through it to see if there was a villain, then put the Graul Ogrekin at the bottom.)

Um, unless that henchman has a specific ability that says the location deck remains intact, then all cards except for villains are banished from the location upon closing as normal.

When you close a location, all non-villain cards are banished from it.


Firedale2002 wrote:
Cintra Bristol wrote:

They end up on the bottom of the location deck.

When you close a location after defeating a henchmen, the location deck remains at the closed location.

(Actually, first you check the location deck to see if there is a villain; if so, all the non-villain cards in the location deck, including the Graul Ogrekin, are banished and the location remains open with just the villain there. But if there is no villain, the deck remains intact at the closed location - shuffle, since you just looked through it to see if there was a villain, then put the Graul Ogrekin at the bottom.)

Um, unless that henchman has a specific ability that says the location deck remains intact, then all cards except for villains are banished from the location upon closing as normal.

When you close a location, all non-villain cards are banished from it.

This is correct. When you close a location after defeating a henchman from that location deck, you banish ALL cards UNLESS there is a villain in the deck. If there is a villain in the deck, you banish all cards EXCEPT for any villains, and the location remains open.


The answer depends. Are you asking about the Graul Ogrekin hencman, or the Ogrekin monster? Both have the "roll a d4" list on their cards.

The henchman version is only used in the Them Ogres Ain't Right scenario. And in that scenario, the scenario rule to put henchmen by the scenario card trumps the 4 result. So if you you defeat a Graul Ogrekin Henchman, even if you rolled a 4, put them up by the scenario card. Then attempt to close the location. If you fail to defeat the Graul Ogrekin henchman and you had rolled a 4, put them on the bottom of the location deck. That is because the Golden Rule says the scenarios trump monsters when their is a conflict.

Golden Rule wrote:
If a card and this rulebook are ever in conflict, the card should be considered correct. If cards conflict with one another, then Adventure Path cards overrule adventures, adventures overrule scenarios, scenarios overrule locations, locations overrule characters, and characters overrule other card types.

For the non-henchman version, if you roll a 4, they go to the bottom of the location deck after the encounter whether you defeated them or not. (Unless they are in the Woods. See the Golden Rule again). They become a card in the location deck again, just like before. Of course defeating the non-henchman version doesn't let you attempt to close the location.

Hypothetically, if the Graul Ogrekin henchman was in a version other then Them Ogres Ain't Right, then they would go to the bottom of the location deck, you'd attempt to close the location, and you'd banish them for being in the location deck when you closed it. (Like others above have said).

Rulebook v3 p13 wrote:
If you succeed at meeting the When Closing requirement, search through the location deck, take out any villains, and banish the other cards. Any villains you found become the entirety of the location deck, and the location is not closed—but at least you know where the villains are!

Good luck on your adventure.


Was out and about on my phone playing with friends. Thanks for the answers.

I was indeed talking about the Graul Ogrekin Henchman, my phone typing skills are still pretty abysmal though. Our guess was that the Graul Ogrekin Henchman ended up on the bottom in this case but it wouldn't have made a difference either way.

Just wasn't sure of the timing between putting on the bottom and banishing.

-Thanks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Graul Ogrekin All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion