
Kaldar |

I don't quite understand this statement.
"If he is beholden to a lord, he gains Honor as normal by defeating a challenge with a CR 1 greater than his character level in the name of his lord. A ronin nitōjutsu must defeat an opponent with a CR 2 greater than his character level in order to gain a level."
Does this refer to gaining honor, class level, or character level? I'm getting ready for our next campaign and I overlooked this odd wording when I originally built my samurai. Can someone please explain how Resolute Honor works?

MrSin |

Damn that's a really bad drawback to the achetype then. That would mean based on the Rite Publishing honor system you wouldn't gain a level with the rest of the party if you didn't significantly contribute to that encounter.
Just don't use that rule then? Usually you end up fighting CR+2 at some point during a level in my experience, though YMMV.
You don't have to use the game exactly as written. That way lies madness.

Kaldar |

My DM wants to run the rule as it is because he feels the achetype is a bit more powerful than the average base class due to combining ranger style feats with the samurai's challenge ability.
At the same time however he's letting our alternate less rule savvy DM run a campaign she made and he would prefer me to pick a class that didn't make her need to track CRs as closely.
They said if I wanted to run the class still I could but with the rule being read this way it just seems like too much of a risk in that, if a rolled poorly or was incapacitated during a CR+2, it would prevent me from leveling and progressively become more difficult to be significant enough in an encounter to level up.