
DungeonmasterCal |

We've always used a rule that said, for instance, that a wizard with a 17 intelligence gets 3 bonus spells, right? We always said it's one extra first, one extra second, and one extra third level spell. Are we doing this wrong or they get three extra spells per level to choose from?
I should know this, but couldn't find anything definitive in the Core Rulebook.

![]() |

We've always used a rule that said, for instance, that a wizard with a 17 intelligence gets 3 bonus spells, right? We always said it's one extra first, one extra second, and one extra third level spell. Are we doing this wrong or they get three extra spells per level to choose from?
I should know this, but couldn't find anything definitive in the Core Rulebook.
CRB pg 17 look for this 'Table 1–3: Ability Modifiers and Bonus Spells'

Lifat |
But yes. You have been doing it right. Just to clarify. These bonus spells only become available once the caster has sufficient levels in the caster class to actually cast spells of the bonus spell level.
A 1st level wizard with 17 int gets one 1st lvl bonus spell.
A 3rd level wizard with 17 int gets one 1st lvl, and one 2nd lvl bonus spell.
Once the wizard obtains 20 int he actually gets 2 1st lvl bonus spells.