Mythic beast shape (augmented): Why?


Rules Questions


Mythic Beast Shape lets you act as though you had Natural Spell for a number of rounds equal to your tier.

... So what?

Natural Spell doesn't give you any benefits when using an ability other than wild shape to change form.


Natural spell does what it says

It lets you fulfill the somatic and verbal components for spells while polymorphed so you can cast if needed


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Drakkiel wrote:

Natural spell does what it says

It lets you fulfill the somatic and verbal components for spells while polymorphed so you can cast if needed

No, it lets you do that while wild shaped.

PRD

PRD wrote:

You can complete the verbal and somatic components of spells while using wild shape. You substitute various noises and gestures for the normal verbal and somatic components of a spell.

You can also use any material components or focuses you possess, even if such items are melded within your current form. This feat does not permit the use of magic items while you are in a form that could not ordinarily use them, and you do not gain the ability to speak while using wild shape.

Emphasis mine.

This feat has no effect whatsoever on any transformation which isn't wild shape.


Ummm...if you're a animal without hands or a mouth (normally capable of producing speech) you can't use spells with material, verbal, or somatic components. So, it lets you cast spells when you wouldn't normally be able to.

Edit: Just noticed that technically Natural Spell only applies to Wild Shape. I guess the intention is to let it function and apply during the duration of Beast Shape.


seebs wrote:
Drakkiel wrote:

Natural spell does what it says

It lets you fulfill the somatic and verbal components for spells while polymorphed so you can cast if needed

No, it lets you do that while wild shaped.

PRD

PRD wrote:

You can complete the verbal and somatic components of spells while using wild shape. You substitute various noises and gestures for the normal verbal and somatic components of a spell.

You can also use any material components or focuses you possess, even if such items are melded within your current form. This feat does not permit the use of magic items while you are in a form that could not ordinarily use them, and you do not gain the ability to speak while using wild shape.

Emphasis mine.

This feat has no effect whatsoever on any transformation which isn't wild shape.

Wild shape IS beast shape

A.If we read it as you do then it has no point correct?

B.If we read it as someone just forgot that the feat said wild shape and not exactly said beast shape then it works correct

If we took a poll what percentage do you think would choose B?


Drakkiel wrote:
seebs wrote:
Drakkiel wrote:

Natural spell does what it says

It lets you fulfill the somatic and verbal components for spells while polymorphed so you can cast if needed

No, it lets you do that while wild shaped.

PRD

PRD wrote:

You can complete the verbal and somatic components of spells while using wild shape. You substitute various noises and gestures for the normal verbal and somatic components of a spell.

You can also use any material components or focuses you possess, even if such items are melded within your current form. This feat does not permit the use of magic items while you are in a form that could not ordinarily use them, and you do not gain the ability to speak while using wild shape.

Emphasis mine.

This feat has no effect whatsoever on any transformation which isn't wild shape.

Wild shape IS beast shape

A.If we read it as you do then it has no point correct?

B.If we read it as someone just forgot that the feat said wild shape and not exactly said beast shape then it works correct

If we took a poll what percentage do you think would choose B?

No, it is NOT beast shape. It is a suernatural ability that lets you transform as if you were using the spell, but it is not the actual spell. If you actually use beastshape to transform then natural spell does not apply. That is why wild shape is called out. Otherwise it would say "wildshape or any spell which it emulates".


What?

Beast Shape is a spell. Wild Shape is a class feature.

The class feature gives you the benefits of the spell. But, if you are using the class feature, then Natural Spell lets you spellcast anyway. So druids with Natural Spell can spellcast in wild shape.

Mythic Beast Shape is a spell that non-druids can cast. Augmented Mythic Beast Shape gives you the effects of Natural Spell. Which does nothing for you, since you are not using wild shape.

Wild shape is (implemented as) beast shape. That doesn't mean that beast shape is wild shape. If a wizard casts beast shape, the wizard is not using wild shape.

If you read the feat the way I do, the feat is very useful to druids, but not useful to any other shape changers. I assume this is intentional, as the feat explicitly says that it requires the wild shape class feature, and refers to what happens while using wild shape.

So, no, it's absolutely not the case that the feat is pointless as-is. However, the mythic beast shape spell appears to be pointless.


The point of mythical beast shape is that you can cast spells while polymorphed. Beast Shape is a sorcerer/wizard spell so using the normal version they can no longer cast spells after they have transformed.


The solution here is to just apply common sense and assume that the developers meant that non-druids can cast spells while using augmented mythic beast shape. Any other interpretation is just silly because Druids can't even learn the beast shape spell!


wraithstrike wrote:
The point of mythical beast shape is that you can cast spells while polymorphed. Beast Shape is a sorcerer/wizard spell so using the normal version they can no longer cast spells after they have transformed.

That would be a great thing, but it is not what Paizo actually wrote.

All augmented mythical beast shape gives you is the ability to act as though you have the Natural Spell feat.

But Natural Spell doesn't have any effect on you, because its effects apply only while using wild shape specifically. It's not just that you can't take the feat because of the prerequisite. If you made a druid/wizard, and took natural spell, it would work while using wild shape, but would still have no effect at all on transformations using wizard spells.

I think what they probably meant was:

During each casting of the spell, a number of times equal to your tier, you can act as though you had the natural spell feat for one round, with the mythic beast shape ability counting as using wild shape for purposes of that feat.


Matrix Dragon wrote:
The solution here is to just apply common sense and assume that the developers meant that non-druids can cast spells while using augmented mythic beast shape. Any other interpretation is just silly because Druids can't even learn the beast shape spell!

I mostly agree, but this has caused me to wonder:

Is it possible that Paizo's writers were under the impression that Natural Spell did work for other shapeshifters? Because if so, there's a kitsune bard in our party who would love that, and actually I have a wizard who might seriously consider it.


seebs wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
The point of mythical beast shape is that you can cast spells while polymorphed. Beast Shape is a sorcerer/wizard spell so using the normal version they can no longer cast spells after they have transformed.

That would be a great thing, but it is not what Paizo actually wrote.

All augmented mythical beast shape gives you is the ability to act as though you have the Natural Spell feat.

But Natural Spell doesn't have any effect on you, because its effects apply only while using wild shape specifically. It's not just that you can't take the feat because of the prerequisite. If you made a druid/wizard, and took natural spell, it would work while using wild shape, but would still have no effect at all on transformations using wizard spells.

I think what they probably meant was:

During each casting of the spell, a number of times equal to your tier, you can act as though you had the natural spell feat for one round, with the mythic beast shape ability counting as using wild shape for purposes of that feat.

OK, I see what you mean now. Yeah that is is. It needs to be errata'd but I think most people can figure out the intent so I don't know if it will be high on the totem pole of future erratas, but I will FAQ it.


I am starting to toy with the notion of trying to maintain a list of Fan Errata, which would be things where the general consensus of the Rules Questions forum is that something is "obvious", but is not what the words actually say.


seebs wrote:
Matrix Dragon wrote:
The solution here is to just apply common sense and assume that the developers meant that non-druids can cast spells while using augmented mythic beast shape. Any other interpretation is just silly because Druids can't even learn the beast shape spell!

I mostly agree, but this has caused me to wonder:

Is it possible that Paizo's writers were under the impression that Natural Spell did work for other shapeshifters? Because if so, there's a kitsune bard in our party who would love that, and actually I have a wizard who might seriously consider it.

Some of Paizo's books are partially written by freelancers, and things get past editing. An entire archetype snuck by editing. :)

Sometimes people mentally autocorrect things like I just did, even though I know natural spell only works with wildshape.


wraithstrike wrote:
Drakkiel wrote:
seebs wrote:
Drakkiel wrote:

Natural spell does what it says

It lets you fulfill the somatic and verbal components for spells while polymorphed so you can cast if needed

No, it lets you do that while wild shaped.

PRD

PRD wrote:

You can complete the verbal and somatic components of spells while using wild shape. You substitute various noises and gestures for the normal verbal and somatic components of a spell.

You can also use any material components or focuses you possess, even if such items are melded within your current form. This feat does not permit the use of magic items while you are in a form that could not ordinarily use them, and you do not gain the ability to speak while using wild shape.

Emphasis mine.

This feat has no effect whatsoever on any transformation which isn't wild shape.

Wild shape IS beast shape

A.If we read it as you do then it has no point correct?

B.If we read it as someone just forgot that the feat said wild shape and not exactly said beast shape then it works correct

If we took a poll what percentage do you think would choose B?

No, it is NOT beast shape. It is a suernatural ability that lets you transform as if you were using the spell, but it is not the actual spell. If you actually use beastshape to transform then natural spell does not apply. That is why wild shape is called out. Otherwise it would say "wildshape or any spell which it emulates".

Sorry I forgot I couldn't say anything that made sense unless I was perfectly clear that it wasn't RAW and instead was just me explaining how I see it.

In the case of mythic beast shape natural spell works...whoever wrote the damn thing probably forgot that it said it was for wildshape only or figured people would make the connection

By saying Wildshape IS beast shape I was using as simple of an explanation as possible...no reason to go crazy of over it

Wraithstrike wrote:
The point of mythical beast shape is that you can cast spells while polymorphed. Beast Shape is a sorcerer/wizard spell so using the normal version they can no longer cast spells after they have transformed.

The OPs point was that if this ^ was the case then as you pointed out it does nothing since you are not using wildshape...if however you read what I wrote beyond "wildshape IS beast shape" it makes sense


1 person marked this as a favorite.

This is one of those "use your brain" situations. The intent is embarrassingly obvious, so go with it.


blahpers wrote:
This is one of those "use your brain" situations. The intent is embarrassingly obvious, so go with it.

The ambiguity, from my point of view, is: Do they actually intend that to be an option for Natural Spell in any other contexts? Because I have seen lots of characters who would love to be able to get that ability.


The ability applies to the ability. It has no implications for any character unless that character casts augmented mythic beast shape.


blahpers wrote:
The ability applies to the ability. It has no implications for any character unless that character casts augmented mythic beast shape.

It has the implication that Paizo thinks there are circumstances under which Natural Spell would affect your ability to cast spells while under the effects of a transformation ability which isn't wild shape.

This might indicate, for instance, that they haven't actually checked the ability closely since importing the SRD way back when, and they just assumed it worked while shapechanged in general.


I believe that in the discription for Wild Shape it says that it works like the Beast Shape spell except for the duration is longer.


seebs wrote:
blahpers wrote:
The ability applies to the ability. It has no implications for any character unless that character casts augmented mythic beast shape.
It has the implication that Paizo thinks there are circumstances under which Natural Spell would affect your ability to cast spells while under the effects of a transformation ability which isn't wild shape.

Sure. Those circumstances are "when you cast augmented mythic beast shape". There is no reason to believe any other situation allows it.

Quote:
This might indicate, for instance, that they haven't actually checked the ability closely since importing the SRD way back when, and they just assumed it worked while shapechanged in general.

I'm pretty sure the question of Natural Spell while polymorph end in a manner other than wild shape has been brought up on this board before. Without searching, I'd be surprised if there were fewer than a dozen threads and at least one really long back-and-forth debate about it. Pretty sure the designers know what they're doing on this one.

I generally just allow Natural Spell with any polymorph effect, but it's definitely a house rule and not a "no, the is what the design team really meant" thing.

Grand Lodge

Drakkiel wrote:

Natural spell does what it says

It lets you fulfill the somatic and verbal components for spells while polymorphed so you can cast if needed

Which means that a wizard/sorcerer can get the benefits of Natural Spell.


See, I don't think the choice of words for Mythic Beast Shape makes sense unless I assume that the person who wrote it believed that Natural Spell would work for any polymorph, not just wild shape.

Grand Lodge

Matrix Dragon wrote:
The solution here is to just apply common sense and assume that the developers meant that non-druids can cast spells while using augmented mythic beast shape. Any other interpretation is just silly because Druids can't even learn the beast shape spell!

Druids don't need to learn the beast shape spell as they emulate it through wildshape. The wildshape mechanics use the beast shape spell mechanics.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mythic beast shape (augmented): Why? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.