
Sub_Zero |

For the next campaign I'm in I'll be playing a Druid. My plan is to go a little crazy (high str, charisma, medium wisdom). We are only going to be using the core rule book and some splash material (mainly feats from APG and UC/UM).
I'm inspired to play my character like Dar from beastmaster. To accomplish this, I plan on riding a mount that I upgrade via handle animal (horse at lvl1, moose at level 3, so on and so forth)
This way my animal companion can be a big cat.
My question is thus. Can I use handle animal as a free action on my turn for my animal companion, combat trained for another free action for my mount, and a third handle animal as a move action for another beasty?
Essentially at level 3 if all goes well I'll have my animal companion and two CR 2 creatures under my command. Mixed with a few summon animals, and hopefully my character shines as a commander of beasts.
or, is there a fatal flaw in this plan?
(feat wise I'll pick up trick ride so that I can ride bareback)

![]() |

Combat training doesn't reduce the action cost for a Handle Animal check on a non-companion animal. Ordering your mount to perform a trick it knows is a move action, then you can use your standard action as another move action to handle a third creature. If you're riding the mount (and not mounted-charging) you have those actions available.

Sub_Zero |

Combat training doesn't reduce the action cost for a Handle Animal check on a non-companion animal. Ordering your mount to perform a trick it knows is a move action, then you can use your standard action as another move action to handle a third creature. If you're riding the mount (and not mounted-charging) you have those actions available.
what about
Fight with a Combat-Trained Mount: If you direct your war-trained mount to attack in battle, you can still make your own attack or attacks normally. This usage is a free action.
From Paizo PRD
I could still be wrong though.

![]() |

Starglim wrote:Combat training doesn't reduce the action cost for a Handle Animal check on a non-companion animal. Ordering your mount to perform a trick it knows is a move action, then you can use your standard action as another move action to handle a third creature. If you're riding the mount (and not mounted-charging) you have those actions available.what about
Quote:Fight with a Combat-Trained Mount: If you direct your war-trained mount to attack in battle, you can still make your own attack or attacks normally. This usage is a free action.From Paizo PRD
I could still be wrong though.
That's a use of Ride, not Handle Animal. It allows you to take your own attacks.
If your mount is an animal, you still have to order it to perform the Attack trick.

Sub_Zero |

Sub_Zero wrote:Starglim wrote:Combat training doesn't reduce the action cost for a Handle Animal check on a non-companion animal. Ordering your mount to perform a trick it knows is a move action, then you can use your standard action as another move action to handle a third creature. If you're riding the mount (and not mounted-charging) you have those actions available.what about
Quote:Fight with a Combat-Trained Mount: If you direct your war-trained mount to attack in battle, you can still make your own attack or attacks normally. This usage is a free action.From Paizo PRD
I could still be wrong though.
That's a use of Ride, not Handle Animal. It allows you to take your own attacks.
If your mount is an animal, you still have to order it to perform the Attack trick.
So could I use handle animal for my animal companion, and non-mount animal. Then use ride for my mount?

![]() |

Quote:So could I use handle animal for my animal companion, and non-mount animal. Then use ride for my mount?Quote:Quote:Fight with a Combat-Trained Mount: If you direct your war-trained mount to attack in battle, you can still make your own attack or attacks normally. This usage is a free action.From Paizo PRD
I could still be wrong though.
That's a use of Ride, not Handle Animal. It allows you to take your own attacks.
If your mount is an animal, you still have to order it to perform the Attack trick.
If you only want your mount to move, you don't have to use any skill or action. If you want it to attack, you need Handle Animal.

Sub_Zero |

So could I use handle animal for my animal companion, and non-mount animal. Then use ride for my mount? If you only want your mount to move, you don't have to use any skill or action to do so. If you want it to attack, you need Handle Animal.Sub_Zero wrote:Quote:Fight with a Combat-Trained Mount: If you direct your war-trained mount to attack in battle, you can still make your own attack or attacks normally. This usage is a free action.From Paizo PRD
I could still be wrong though.
That's a use of Ride, not Handle Animal. It allows you to take your own attacks.
If your mount is an animal, you still have to order it to perform the Attack trick.
wait. I've heard this, and hence this is why I'm confused.
Under ride, it clearly states that I can direct my mount to attack, and that this is a free action.
So if we forget about the other 2 animals for a moment, couldn't I just use the DC 10 ride check to direct my wartrained mount to attack in battle, and still have my full compliment of actions?
edit: To clarify further, the ability is referring to me directing my mount to attack in battle, and that I still get my attack/attacks, and then says this is a free action. In this case, what part is the free action?

![]() |

wait. I've heard this, and hence this is why I'm confused.
Under ride, it clearly states that I can direct my mount to attack, and that this is a free action.
So if we forget about the other 2 animals for a moment, couldn't I just use the DC 10 ride check to direct my wartrained mount to attack in battle, and still have my full compliment of actions?
No, Ride states that if you direct your mount to attack, you can take a free action, DC 10, to make your own attack or attacks. The Ride check doesn't give that direction.
If your mount is your animal companion, since it's combat trained and therefore knows the Attack trick, you can also command it to attack with Handle Animal, DC 10 with a +4 bonus, as a (previous) free action. If it's not your animal companion, this is a move action, DC 10.
Provided your companion mount starts within 5 feet of a point where you can attack your opponent, you then both get full attacks.

Sub_Zero |

Sub_Zero wrote:wait. I've heard this, and hence this is why I'm confused.
Under ride, it clearly states that I can direct my mount to attack, and that this is a free action.
So if we forget about the other 2 animals for a moment, couldn't I just use the DC 10 ride check to direct my wartrained mount to attack in battle, and still have my full compliment of actions?
No, Ride states that if you direct your mount to attack, you can take a free action, DC 10, to make your own attack or attacks. The Ride check doesn't give that direction.
If your mount is your animal companion, since it's combat trained and therefore knows the Attack trick, you can also command it to attack with Handle Animal, DC 10 with a +4 bonus, as a (previous) free action. If it's not your animal companion, this is a move action, DC 10.
Provided your companion mount starts within 5 feet of a point where you can attack your opponent, you then both get full attacks.
Thank You!
I was parsing the sentence incorrectly. I thought it was the directing that they were referring to as a free action.
Ok, so if this is the case, would this be possible:
1. Direct animal companion to attack (free action)
2. Direct other random animal to attack (move action)
3. Direct mount to attack, and assume that I'm already adjacent to the enemy (standard action as move action)
4. Full attack (free action with ride check)
would that be correct?

Hendelbolaf |

I second what Mike said, the Pack Master archetype is what you want. It has the potential to water down your companion a little, but it gives you the beastmaster-Pokemon master type freedom of multiple companions. I really like the ability to see through their eyes. Just remember that animal companions are usually front end loaded as far as power at low levels. The higher you get, the less impactful they really are.

Natch |

Ok, so if this is the case, would this be possible:
1. Direct animal companion to attack (free action)
2. Direct other random animal to attack (move action)
3. Direct mount to attack, and assume that I'm already adjacent to the enemy (standard action as move action)
4. Full attack (free action with ride check)would that be correct?
The free action ride check is to allow your attacks, not to actually make them. You could direct your animal companion as a free and one other as a move, but you'd still need a standard to make any attacks of your own. If you want to full attack, you need a full-round action, which means you can only give commands to your animal companion in that round (though if you gave previous commands to attack/defend/etc, the other animals will continue to carry out the same actions until commanded otherwise).