
Blackstorm |

Knowledge Pool (Su)
At 7th level, when a magus prepares his magus spells, he can decide to expend 1 or more points from his arcane pool, up to his Intelligence bonus. For each point he expends, he can treat any one spell from the magus spell list as if it were in his spellbook and can prepare that spell as normal that day. If he does not cast spells prepared in this way before the next time he prepares spells, he loses those spells. He can also cast spells added in this way using his spell recall ability, but only until he prepares spells again.
So, does this ability, raw and rai, let you to add all your magus' spell list to your book?

![]() |

It lets you memorise spells that aren't in your spellbook. This isn't the same as having all of the spells in your book.
With the Scribe Scroll feat, and unlimited time and gold, sure, you could use this to end up with all of the Magus spells in your book.

Blackstorm |

Hmmm. The rules for copying or replacing a spellbook are those:
wizard can use the procedure for learning a spell to reconstruct a lost spellbook. If he already has a particular spell prepared, he can write it directly into a new book at the same cost required to write a spell into a spellbook.
So it seems I can use spell knowledge to prepare a spell, and then, since I have it prepared, I can write it down.

![]() |

Mudfoot wrote:I'm inclined to say no, as spell kenning just allows the skald to cast the spell, it doesn't add it to his spells known. And you can't cast a spell unless it's a spell known. (Related question is "can a magus use knowledge pool to prepare a non-magus spell, then scribe it into his book?," and I think the answer to that is also "no.")Can a skald write a scroll (or otherwise create items) of a spell gained via Spell Kenning?
While it is a "I think" reply, it is from one of the Developers of the game.
Writing a spell into a spellbook require to understand it:
Writing a New Spell into a SpellbookOnce a wizard understands a new spell, he can record it into his spellbook.
but understanding a spell require this procedure:
Spells Copied from Another's Spellbook or a Scroll: A wizard can also add a spell to his book whenever he encounters one on a magic scroll or in another wizard's spellbook. No matter what the spell's source, the wizard must first decipher the magical writing (see Arcane Magical Writings). Next, he must spend 1 hour studying the spell. At the end of the hour, he must make a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell's level). A wizard who has specialized in a school of spells gains a +2 bonus on the Spellcraft check if the new spell is from his specialty school. If the check succeeds, the wizard understands the spell and can copy it into his spellbook (see Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook). The process leaves a spellbook that was copied from unharmed, but a spell successfully copied from a magic scroll disappears from the parchment.
Knowledge pool bypass the part where you study the spell and then make the spellcraft check, so you have the spell memorized but you don't understand it.
It work if you are replacing a lost spellbook, as you have understood the spell when you did write ti the first time, not if you are trying to write a spell you don't have studied.