
csouth154 |
So...Malagus says that if he's undefeated, each character at the location gets moved to a random location.
The Dam says that you may not move or be moved from the Dam unless another character is present.
Here's my question: If Malagus is undefeated at the Dam...can his power move someone if no one else is there? The Golden Rule clearly says "no". Thoughts?
Another question: What if two or more people are at the Dam when Malagus is undefeated? Does everyone get moved to a random location simultaneously? Or does it happen one character at a time? If it happens one character at a time, then once you get down to the last person, the location rule (If I'm correct about how the Golden Rule decides the situation) would kick in and keep them from being moved.
What does everyone think?

Hawkmoon269 |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I think that the location trumps the bane.
Location is not only the higher card in the order, but if two cards conflict the card that says you cannot do something should be the one you follow. Malagus is saying you get moved. The Dam says you can't get moved unless another character is present.
So, if you were alone at the dam and encountered Malagus, I'd say you don't get moved.
If there were two or more characters at the dam and you encountered Malagus, I'd say all but one of you get moved. Since no order is specified, the player who's turn it was may specify the order. They can just choose or roll to see who gets moved first. And the last one left stays there.

csouth154 |
Yoshua wrote:I think that the location trumps the bane.Location is not only the higher card in the order, but if two cards conflict the card that says you cannot do something should be the one you follow. Malagus is saying you get moved. The Dam says you can't get moved unless another character is present.
So, if you were alone at the dam and encountered Malagus, I'd say you don't get moved.
If there were two or more characters at the dam and you encountered Malagus, I'd say all but one of you get moved. Since no order is specified, the player who's turn it was may specify the order. They can just choose or roll to see who gets moved first. And the last one left stays there.
That sounds about right to me, too.
Did it wrong last night, then. Just once, though, and only with one getting moved that shouldn't have, so I think we'll still call it a win. ;)

Hawkmoon269 |

Yeah. I wouldn't let that lead me to replaying a scenario. I think the more intended effect is for you to have someone get stuck at the dam when they weren't already there to begin with. You'd been spending time at the dam anyway, so you'd already taken that "punishment".
By the way, if Malagus said to "Ignore all movement restrictions." I'd say then that everyone should be moved. It is a little convoluted, but it would go like this:
The apparent conflict would be whether the restrictions apply, but the real issue you'd have to settle is whether you are allowed to ignore restrictions. The Golden Rule is all about when cards conflict. Golden rule part 3 says obey the card that says you cannot do something. The bane would say you CAN ignore all movement restrictions. The Dam doesn't say you CANNOT ignore all movement restrictions. In fact it doesn't say anything about ignoring at all. So it would be ok to ignore all movement restrictions, because there is no conflict on the issue of ignoring.
I think the Cape of Escape says something about ignoring movement restrictions. I can't remember for sure. If so the same sort of thing would be true with it.

Mike Selinker Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer |

This section:
If a card describes a die roll that affects multiple characters (for example, if it says that each character at a location takes 1d4 damage), roll separately for each character.
suggests strongly to me that the two characters would try to move in sequence, and then one would succeed at moving and the other would fail.