Summoned monsters... what rules apply to them?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


I'm having a hard time grasping summoned villains, henchmen, and monsters. I've read the most recently updated rulebook and a lot of threads on this forum. My understanding for summoned cards:

Summoned cards are from the box. They come from the box and they go back to the box. No exceptions. Summoned monsters that are evaded are banished back to the box (rulebook p.13). Cards that place summoned monsters on a location deck (e.g. Sanctuary or Medusa Mask) are not, they do not belong to a location deck they belong to the box. Defeating a summoned villian doesn't allow you to close a location or win the scenario (rulebook p.13). Summoned henchmen don't come from a location deck; therefore, defeating them doesn't allow you to attempt to close a location (rulebook p.17). Unless the summoned card says otherwise, summoned cards are not placed next other cards - after resolving the encounter banish the summoned card back to the box. Summoned card cannot summon other cards (rulebook p. 12).

I think this clears a lot of things up for me after writing it down. Hopefully this helps others, too :P

I do still have one question, if summoned cards do not come from a location deck (rulebook p.17) are they still part of the location for the purposes of "At This Location" powers? I want to say "yes" but I think I was wrong on just about everything I listed above, at some point.


I say yes. The "at this location" rules apply to the character being at the location. So even though the summoned monster isn't from the location, your character is still at it. So at the Warrens for instance, you would place a monster on another open location if you encountered a summoned ancient skeleton henchman.


Great summary - all looks good to me, and I agree with @Hawkmoon269 as well

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

Yeah, I say so as well. Vic will have to decide whether the wording is clear, but I think the intent is.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Drunkenping wrote:
I do still have one question, if summoned cards do not come from a location deck (rulebook p.17) are they still part of the location for the purposes of "At This Location" powers? I want to say "yes" but I think I was wrong on just about everything I listed above, at some point.

They are not part of the location for any purpose whatsoever. But if you're talking about the Warrens, that's not relevant: Warrens cares only that you are at the Warrens, and that you have encountered a monster. It does *not* care if that monster is at the Warrens or not.

If you have other locations in mind, let me know.


Vic Wertz wrote:
Drunkenping wrote:
I do still have one question, if summoned cards do not come from a location deck (rulebook p.17) are they still part of the location for the purposes of "At This Location" powers? I want to say "yes" but I think I was wrong on just about everything I listed above, at some point.

They are not part of the location for any purpose whatsoever. But if you're talking about the Warrens, that's not relevant: Warrens cares only that you are at the Warrens, and that you have encountered a monster. It does *not* care if that monster is at the Warrens or not.

If you have other locations in mind, let me know.

What about something like Goblin Fortress? "At this location: The difficulty to defeat monsters with the Goblin trait is increased by 2."

When closing this location you are required to summon and defeat a Goblin Raider henchman... would this summoned Goblin have an increase difficulty of 2?


I think so. Your character is at that location when he encounters the Goblin Raider henchman, even if the henchman isn't from the location deck. Same would be true for a Goblin Raid barrier.

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

Yes. It doesn't matter where the monster is. It matters where you are.


Okay, if that is true then I can't think of a location where this would actually matter.

Theoretically, would a location worded like the Woods affect a summoned monster? I understand an undefeated summoned monster is already banished, but I am just trying to think of wording where it might matter if a summoned monster were "at a location". The Woods sounds like it is 'targeting' the monster. I am only on the first adventure deck so there are lots of location cards I have yet to see!

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

It might help if you think about the words "At this location" as the beginning of a sentence that's concluded in the box.

Warrens cares about your location because it says "At this location, when you encounter a monster..."

Woods, though, says "At this location, undefeated monsters other than villains or henchmen are banished." In this case, it *doesn't* care about your location—it cares about *their* location. And summoned monsters are never at a location, so it never cares about them.


Thanks for all great feedback, Vic. I think I finally understand.


Vic Wertz wrote:

It might help if you think about the words "At this location" as the beginning of a sentence that's concluded in the box.

Warrens cares about your location because it says "At this location, when you encounter a monster..."

Woods, though, says "At this location, undefeated monsters other than villains or henchmen are banished." In this case, it *doesn't* care about your location—it cares about *their* location. And summoned monsters are never at a location, so it never cares about them.

In both cases 'at this location' isn't enough of a sentence to be unambiguous. I could take your reading of Woods to reason by analogy that that Warrens is "When you encounter {a monster at this location} ..." as opposed to "When {you encounter at this location} a monster".

If 'at this location' isn't going to be used consistently to refer to the character (and defined as such), I suggest that S&S use wording along the lines of "when you are at this location" and "encounter a monster from this location".

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

You seem to have misunderstood me. I'm saying to think of the "At this location" as immediately preceding whatever it says in the box. For Warrens, that would be "At this location, when you encounter a monster, put a random monster from the box on top of another location deck." Pretty clear....


Wow lotsa wordage here,.. But just so I'm clear, if i'am forced to summon a henchmen, with the text " if defeated, you may immediately attempt to close this location" , you guys are saying I can't? Because he didn't originally come from this location?


Correct. Ignore that line of text on summoned henchmen.


Brainwave wrote:
Correct. Ignore that line of text on summoned henchmen.

cool thanks, realized I may have inadvertently cheated a little during my last run through.


Gameface wrote:
Brainwave wrote:
Correct. Ignore that line of text on summoned henchmen.
cool thanks, realized I may have inadvertently cheated a little during my last run through.

Learning the game is not the same as cheating. ;-)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Summoned monsters... what rules apply to them? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion