
![]() |
No, because it is inappropriatly sized.
My homegroup did the same things you do, but as per RAW a Medium Shortbow is for Mediums, if used by a small character, it incurs a -2 penalty due to inappropriate sizing.
A medium shortbow is a 2 handed weapon, so RAW it can't be weilded by a small character with less than 3 hands.
The RAW is a little silly in this case, but them's the rules.

BigNorseWolf |

On the plus side, you can always go to the pathfinder lodge and say "I wand a small sized longbow, or I want a small sized longbow +1 and they'll reach under the counter and hand it to you. After you have enough fame (which should always outpace your gold) You can say "I want a small +1 shocking burst flaming holy animal bane" weapon- you don't need to wait to kill a halfling archer.

Andreas Forster |

A medium shortbow is a 2 handed weapon
No, in the Core Rulebook, ranged weapons are not devided into light, one-handed, and two-handed. They're just ranged weapons. And they are listed as requiring two hands to use.
You need two hands to use a bow, regardless of its size.
Still, I agree that it wouldn't make much sense to take that -2 penalty if you can just buy a longbow that deals the same amount of damage as an inappropriately sized shortbow.

![]() |

Quote:A medium shortbow is a 2 handed weaponNo, in the Core Rulebook, ranged weapons are not devided into light, one-handed, and two-handed. They're just ranged weapons. And they are listed as requiring two hands to use.
Core Rulebook wrote:You need two hands to use a bow, regardless of its size.
That's why my halfling uses a Colossal longbow. He is –10 to hit, but the damage is 5d6.
/sarcasm.
Andreas Forster |

Andreas Forster wrote:Quote:A medium shortbow is a 2 handed weaponNo, in the Core Rulebook, ranged weapons are not devided into light, one-handed, and two-handed. They're just ranged weapons. And they are listed as requiring two hands to use.
Core Rulebook wrote:You need two hands to use a bow, regardless of its size.That's why my halfling uses a Colossal longbow. He is –10 to hit, but the damage is 5d6.
/sarcasm.
Stuff like that also came to mind when I looked at the weapon tables in Core Rulebook. There has to be some kind of size equivalent for ranged weapons. I just didn't find anything about that.

![]() |

The Fox wrote:If a weapon requires two hands to use, it is a two-handed weapon.Is a crossbow a two-handed weapon? or a pistol? both require two hands to load, but not to shot...
You can shoot a crossbow that is one size too large for you (using two hands), but you cannot load such a crossbow. You cannot shoot a crossbow that is two or more sizes too large for you.