
nanaki626 |

I need some clarification on the use of the Magus' Spell Combat and Spellstrike abilities, specifically when they are used in concert. Me and my GM seem to be interrupting the rules differently and need some clarification. (more than likely I am wrong as that seems to happen with an alarmingly frequency)
The way I am reading the rules, When Combat and Strike are used together, you make your full attack and throw a prepared spell, as explained by Spell Combat, and then you make another attack at your full attack bonus while channeling a touch spell through your sword, as stated by Spellstrike, with the added penalties that Combat imposes on you. Basically full melee attack, plus an extra, and the two spells.
My GM is reading this as when they are used together the spell that is channeled through your sword with Spellstrike replaces the spell you can cast with Combat.
So as you can see, we are at impasse here. Personally I am not trying to cause any unrest with my group over this, I just want to make sure that I am playing my class correctly and haven't misinterpreted any rules. So if anyone can help settle this, would be greatly appreciated.

Orfamay Quest |

I need some clarification on the use of the Magus' Spell Combat and Spellstrike abilities, specifically when they are used in concert. Me and my GM seem to be interrupting the rules differently and need some clarification. (more than likely I am wrong as that seems to happen with an alarmingly frequency)
The way I am reading the rules, When Combat and Strike are used together, you make your full attack and throw a prepared spell, as explained by Spell Combat, and then you make another attack at your full attack bonus while channeling a touch spell through your sword, as stated by Spellstrike, with the added penalties that Combat imposes on you. Basically full melee attack, plus an extra, and the two spells.
My GM is reading this as when they are used together the spell that is channeled through your sword with Spellstrike replaces the spell you can cast with Combat.
So as you can see, we are at impasse here. Personally I am not trying to cause any unrest with my group over this, I just want to make sure that I am playing my class correctly and haven't misinterpreted any rules. So if anyone can help settle this, would be greatly appreciated.
Your GM is correct.
Spellstrike does not allow you to cast spells. It merely says that when you cast a spell, you may channel it through your sword (if it's the right type of spell).
Spell Combat allows you to take a full attack and cast a spell, as opposed to merely making a full attack. So it allows an additional spell. Spellstrike then lets you use your weapon to deliver the spell.

master_marshmallow |

Here's how it works:
Initiate Spell Combat -> You have acknowledged that this is your full round for the turn. You get two options at this point:
Option A: Select a prepared spell and cast it, making your concentration check to see if you cast it successfully.
Option B: Make an attack roll with a -2 penalty.
From there, you can either continue taking attacks until you run out of them, or cast your spell, whichever one you didn't already do.
That's it as far as spell combat goes. I know you still have a question regarding spell strike, and here's the answer:
If the spell you cast has a target with a range of touch, under normal circumstances you would get to make a melee touch attack as a free action. Spellstrike allows you to do the same thing, but instead of making a melee touch attack as a free action, you make a melee weapon attack as the free action.
The "extra attack" has nothing to do with Spell Combat, and it can happen independently if you so desire as the free action deliverance of your touch spell can happen at any time you can make a free action, which basically means at any point during your turn.