I need some clarification on the use of the Magus' Spell Combat and Spellstrike abilities, specifically when they are used in concert. Me and my GM seem to be interrupting the rules differently and need some clarification. (more than likely I am wrong as that seems to happen with an alarmingly frequency)
The way I am reading the rules, When Combat and Strike are used together, you make your full attack and throw a prepared spell, as explained by Spell Combat, and then you make another attack at your full attack bonus while channeling a touch spell through your sword, as stated by Spellstrike, with the added penalties that Combat imposes on you. Basically full melee attack, plus an extra, and the two spells.
My GM is reading this as when they are used together the spell that is channeled through your sword with Spellstrike replaces the spell you can cast with Combat.
So as you can see, we are at impasse here. Personally I am not trying to cause any unrest with my group over this, I just want to make sure that I am playing my class correctly and haven't misinterpreted any rules. So if anyone can help settle this, would be greatly appreciated.