
Kalriostraz |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |

Basically comes down to: Can a spell effect, or spell pass through the opening of a Bag of Holding?
Rope Trick is the only spell that mentions spells not passing into an extra-dimensional space, BUT it also goes out of it's way to point out this isn't a normal extra-dimensional space.
The upper end is, in fact, fastened to an extra-dimensional space that is outside the usual multiverse of extra-dimensional spaces.
I'm trying to find if there's any RAW reason to believe something like a Symbol of Mirroring wouldn't cast it's area of effect out of the bag. If narrowed down to strictly while open is fine. Is there anything in the RAW that could be used to show this doesn't happen? Or is it more a case of RAI indicates spells don't pass the barrier, and RAW is hard to determine?
As an extra question, what happens to a Fireball if you shoot it into the open mouth of a Bag of Holding? I would expect this to be consistent with whatever the ruling is for the Symbol of Mirroring aura.

Xaratherus |

This is probably not the best place for such a rule, but see the spell Shadowy Haven
When this spell is cast upon a 5-foot-square part of a wall, it creates an extradimensional space adjacent to the Plane of Shadow. Creatures in the extradimensional space are hidden beyond the reach of spells (including divinations) unless those spells work across planes. The space holds as many as 10 creatures (of any size). The entrance to the extradimensional space remains visible as an area that is darker than the ambient illumination.
Spells cannot be cast across the extradimensional interface, nor can area effects cross it. Those in the extradimensional space can see out of it as if a 5-foot-by-5-foot door or window were centered on the affected surface. The window is invisible (though it is within the shadowed entrance to the spell, which is visible), and even creatures that can see the window from the outside can't see through it. Anything inside the extradimensional space is ejected when the spell ends. Only one creature may enter or exit the extradimensional space at a time.
The entrance is only open when the area around it is in dim light. Any other level of light (brighter or darker) closes the entrance, trapping creatures inside the extradimensional space. If the entrance is closed when the spell expires, there is a 50% chance that creatures in it are ejected into the Shadow Plane instead of the location of the entrance. If this occurs, the creatures appear on the Shadow Plane 1d10 miles in a random direction from their corresponding location on the Material Plane. The spell has no effect if cast on a plane that is not adjacent to the Shadow Plane.
Because the extradimensional space is adjacent to the Shadow Plane, any shadow walk spell or similar effect that allows travel to the Shadow Plane is more accurate, reducing the distance creatures arrive off-target by half.
There's also the statement that "outside conditions" do not affect the interior of a Mage's Magnificent Mansion, which I would take to include effects caused by spells (i.e., a Cloudkill fog would stop at the door to the mansion and not flow into it).
So personally, I see that as enough evidence to say that unless the spell notes otherwise, its effects are stopped at points of extradimensional transition - so throwing a Fireball at the mouth of a bag of holding would result in the bead the spell generates exploding when it hits the mouth of the bag.
[edit]
Holy crap, glad I caught that typo...

Drachasor |
I'd note that the rules for Lines of Effect state that an opening needs to be at least 1 foot by 1 foot to assume the effect can pass through it unhindered.
But in any case, no effect would come out if the bag is closed. Opening and closing the bag seem to be part of the action of putting something in it or taking something out.
Since the effect is a burst in any case, it would only create a cone of effect coming out of the opening.

Kayerloth |
There use to be a feat that was needed to cast a spell into an extradimensional space in 3.5. Assuming the "backwards compatibility" rules are the same for extra dimensional spaces that spell is not crossing planar. boundareis
Transdimensional was the feat, closest PF equivalent is Ectoplasmic.