Witch hexes : Scar + cackle?


Rules Questions


10 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Does scar allow you to use cackle from up to 1 mile away and prolong the duration of hexes like evil eye/misfortune on it? What about fortune?

The Exchange

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

i've seen people use it for that.

have you read the scar hex fix in the APG FAQ?


Are you talking about the FAQ on scar and diplomacy and such?

OP > Given the RAW of scar, yes, you may.


I don't see any FAQ referencing scar. There is a FAQ referencing cackle:

Quote:

Witch, Cackle Hex: Does my character literally have to cackle madly when I use this hex, or is that just flavor text?

Your character actually has to cackle—probably in a strong voice, akin to the volume and clarity necessary for verbal spell components.

Edit 7/19/13:
If the witch is in a silence effect, she can't use the cackle hex.
If the target is in a silence effect, it is unaffected by the cackle.
This may require some clarifying text in the next printing of the Advanced Player's Guide.

—Pathfinder Design Team, 06/06/13

If they can't hear you cackle, it doesn't work.


For an absolute resolution, it requires another FAQ. However, scar says you can use your hexes out to a mile. That subverts normal targeting rules from the outset. You don't need line of sight, effect, etc like you normally would. Likewise, I would wager they don't need to hear you like they normally would.

Shadow Lodge

That FAQ was intended to reference the silence spell and players abusing the supernatural quality where you don't need to make any gestures or sounds to activate it.

The scar hex might be an exception, or it might not, so this is probably a FAQ candidate.

Dark Archive

blahpers wrote:

I don't see any FAQ referencing scar. There is a FAQ referencing cackle:

Quote:

Witch, Cackle Hex: Does my character literally have to cackle madly when I use this hex, or is that just flavor text?

Your character actually has to cackle—probably in a strong voice, akin to the volume and clarity necessary for verbal spell components.

Edit 7/19/13:
If the witch is in a silence effect, she can't use the cackle hex.
If the target is in a silence effect, it is unaffected by the cackle.
This may require some clarifying text in the next printing of the Advanced Player's Guide.

—Pathfinder Design Team, 06/06/13

If they can't hear you cackle, it doesn't work.

Incorrect, it simply states that the silence spell stops your cackle from working. Nothing in that faq says the target has to hear it. If that where the case a simple thunderstone on yourself would make you immune to the hex without stopping you from casting yourself.


There's a reason that silence stops cackle from working.

Regardless, FAQ'd because I'd really like to see some clarification regarding Scar. I know how I'd run it, but I'd like to appreciate the designer's intentions before I house.


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

On a similar note can you use scar combined with split hex?

E.G. Scar a rat, rat goes near the enemy, scar the rat again and use split hex to bounce the scar to the enemy. Effectively allowing you to scar an enemy from 1 mile away.


Mathwei ap Niall wrote:
blahpers wrote:

I don't see any FAQ referencing scar. There is a FAQ referencing cackle:

Quote:

Witch, Cackle Hex: Does my character literally have to cackle madly when I use this hex, or is that just flavor text?

Your character actually has to cackle—probably in a strong voice, akin to the volume and clarity necessary for verbal spell components.

Edit 7/19/13:
If the witch is in a silence effect, she can't use the cackle hex.
If the target is in a silence effect, it is unaffected by the cackle.
This may require some clarifying text in the next printing of the Advanced Player's Guide.

—Pathfinder Design Team, 06/06/13

If they can't hear you cackle, it doesn't work.

Incorrect, it simply states that the silence spell stops your cackle from working. Nothing in that faq says the target has to hear it. If that where the case a simple thunderstone on yourself would make you immune to the hex without stopping you from casting yourself.

The discussion and question that led to the FAQ makes it clear that you must be able to hear the Cackle for it to be affected (even though the FAQ itself was not worded as clearly). You can read the original thread here but for brevity's sake here is the question that spawned the FAQ:

Wraithstrike wrote:
If an effect uses sound as the medium of delivery should we assume it has to be heard to be effective, even if it is NOT listed as a sonic effect?

So a mute Witch cannot use Cackle; a deafened creature cannot be affected by Cackle.

[edit]

As to the original question re: Scar and Cackle, since there is no stated restriction by RAW, I would allow it to function. However, I would still apply the exact same restrictions as though the Witch were there Cackling: If the scarred individual (who is basically acting as a 'speaker') is in a silence effect, it wouldn't function, and it would still have the same more mundane drawbacks (like giving away the location of the scarred target as an audible mad laughter rang out).

Liberty's Edge

Question wrote:

On a similar note can you use scar combined with split hex?

E.G. Scar a rat, rat goes near the enemy, scar the rat again and use split hex to bounce the scar to the enemy. Effectively allowing you to scar an enemy from 1 mile away.

PRD wrote:

Split Hex

You can split the effect of one of your targeted hexes, affecting another creature you can see.

Prerequisite: Witch level 10th.

Benefit: When you use one of your hexes (not a major hex or a grand hex) that targets a single creature, you can choose another creature within 30 feet of the first target to also be targeted by the hex.

Good question, the gut reaction would be no, but if you take the benefit text in a vacuum it seem a valid interpretation.

I think it will not allow you to bypass the other targeting rules for the hexes, but other people can interpret it differently.

As written, if you take the benefit part alone, it would add another 30' of range to your hex, as the split hex could hit 30' further away from you.

My opinion that you can't extend the range of the hex is on the basis of this:

PRD wrote:

Range

A spell's range indicates how far from you it can reach, as defined in the range entry of the spell description. A spell's range is the maximum distance from you that the spell's effect can occur, as well as the maximum distance at which you can designate the spell's point of origin. If any portion of the spell's area would extend beyond this range, that area is wasted.

but that is the rule for spells, so it don't necessarily apply to supernatural powers.


The problem is that the FAQ does not really answer a very basic question, which would put this to bed - does the recipient of a hex that has Cackle attached to it have to hear the witch Cackling in order for the Cackle to be effective. Or even more simply put (because I just thought about spells like Message, etc.), do you have to be within 30 feet of the Witch to receive the benefits of a Cackle.

I have played with other players who cast Scar on everyone, Fortune on the scars, and then spends the ENTIRE game Cackling (they just moves a little slower and only takes one additional move/standard action per round), thus giving everyone an extra roll per round for EVERY ROUND, which is awesome as a player (though I did feel a little dirty), but as a GM it creates a situation where almost every player makes his/her saves, checks, etc., which kind of sucks.

Wait, now that I think about it, as a player, it is not that much fun either.

FAQ this please!!!

Dark Archive

Xaratherus wrote:
Mathwei ap Niall wrote:
blahpers wrote:

I don't see any FAQ referencing scar. There is a FAQ referencing cackle:

Quote:

Witch, Cackle Hex: Does my character literally have to cackle madly when I use this hex, or is that just flavor text?

Your character actually has to cackle—probably in a strong voice, akin to the volume and clarity necessary for verbal spell components.

Edit 7/19/13:
If the witch is in a silence effect, she can't use the cackle hex.
If the target is in a silence effect, it is unaffected by the cackle.
This may require some clarifying text in the next printing of the Advanced Player's Guide.

—Pathfinder Design Team, 06/06/13

If they can't hear you cackle, it doesn't work.

Incorrect, it simply states that the silence spell stops your cackle from working. Nothing in that faq says the target has to hear it. If that where the case a simple thunderstone on yourself would make you immune to the hex without stopping you from casting yourself.

The discussion and question that led to the FAQ makes it clear that you must be able to hear the Cackle for it to be affected (even though the FAQ itself was not worded as clearly). You can read the original thread here but for brevity's sake here is the question that spawned the FAQ:

Wraithstrike wrote:
If an effect uses sound as the medium of delivery should we assume it has to be heard to be effective, even if it is NOT listed as a sonic effect?

So a mute Witch cannot use Cackle; a deafened creature cannot be affected by Cackle.

[edit]

As to the original question re: Scar and Cackle, since there is no stated restriction by RAW, I would allow it to function. However, I would still apply the exact same restrictions as though the Witch were there Cackling: If the scarred individual (who is...

The discussion may have led you to that inference but the FAQ entry itself doesn't follow that. It literally only requires that you both not be in a silence effect for cackle to work.

And since it was this thread that led to this ruling I'm reasonably sure that the DEV team was aware of it and intentionally only addressed the silence spell.


Trypt wrote:

The problem is that the FAQ does not really answer a very basic question, which would put this to bed - does the recipient of a hex that has Cackle attached to it have to hear the witch Cackling in order for the Cackle to be effective. Or even more simply put (because I just thought about spells like Message, etc.), do you have to be within 30 feet of the Witch to receive the benefits of a Cackle.

I have played with other players who cast Scar on everyone, Fortune on the scars, and then spends the ENTIRE game Cackling (they just moves a little slower and only takes one additional move/standard action per round), thus giving everyone an extra roll per round for EVERY ROUND, which is awesome as a player (though I did feel a little dirty), but as a GM it creates a situation where almost every player makes his/her saves, checks, etc., which kind of sucks.

Wait, now that I think about it, as a player, it is not that much fun either.

FAQ this please!!!

Fortune (Su) wrote:
Once a creature has benefited from the fortune hex, it cannot benefit from it again for 24 hours.

Each target would only get one extra reroll, not one reroll every round. Your GM got hoodwinked.

Not to mention that cackling is freaking loud. It'd ruin any chance at Stealth, probably ruin Diplomacy checks, and eventually your poor witch's voice is going to go hoarse.


Someone else linked me to this : http://paizo.com/products/btpy8fo1/faq?Pathfinder-Roleplaying-Game-Advanced -Players-Guide#v5748eaic9pkc

So yea it looks like you can use cackle to get more rerolls....

Liberty's Edge

Question wrote:

Someone else linked me to this : http://paizo.com/products/btpy8fo1/faq?Pathfinder-Roleplaying-Game-Advanced -Players-Guide#v5748eaic9pkc

So yea it looks like you can use cackle to get more rerolls....

Yes, but on the other hand, once the witch go to sleep or stop cackling, he can't use the hex on the same target for 24 hours. No till the next day, it is for 24 hours.

So if his hex effect stopped at 8 pm, he can't use it again until 8 pm.

I must say too, that I would (not) like to see this guy eating while he has to cackle once every 6 seconds.
I would very much like to be his otolaryngologist. He would make me rich.


Question wrote:

Someone else linked me to this : http://paizo.com/products/btpy8fo1/faq?Pathfinder-Roleplaying-Game-Advanced -Players-Guide#v5748eaic9pkc

So yea it looks like you can use cackle to get more rerolls....

Seriously? Ugh. Now it makes even less sense. It made more sense if you got one reroll and that was it, but if you didn't the witch could hex you again. *sigh*

I hate stealth errata.


blahpers wrote:
Question wrote:

Someone else linked me to this : FAQ

So yea it looks like you can use cackle to get more rerolls....

Seriously? Ugh. Now it makes even less sense. It made more sense if you got one reroll and that was it, but if you didn't the witch could hex you again. *sigh*

I hate stealth errata.

Linkified the FAQ

Fortune (Su):
The witch can grant a creature within 30 feet a bit of good luck for 1 round. The target can call upon this good luck once per round, allowing him to reroll any ability check, attack roll, saving throw, or skill check, taking the better result. He must decide to use this ability before the first roll is made. At 8th level and 16th level, the duration of this hex is extended by 1 round. Once a creature has benefited from the fortune hex, it cannot benefit from it again for 24 hours.

Original text has the hex multiround at high level. Cackle just makes it last longer.

/cevah


Hmm, okay, apparently I fail at reading. Well, it wouldn't be the first time. : P


It took quite a bit of arguing between myself and my witch player for them to convince me that riding on the barbarians back and cackling all day should give his entire party such a potent buff. He pretty much just spent every move action every round for -hours- cackling constantly, until it got to the point where he stopped and had several hours of built up rounds and he didn't have to cackle anymore.

Needless to say, things got a bit harder for the party when the entire group had an "oh s%~#" button once a round every round.

As far as the cackle and scar interaction, RAW I believe it works. The idea that Cackle doesn't work in silence I feel is akin to a verbal components for a spell. I.E., it's not that if they dont hear you it doesn't work, but it's harder (in this case impossible) for the power to manifest without you making the sound. Take a fireball: it would be hard to say that it's because the target can't hear you that you can't lob a fireball 800 feet towards them.

Looking again, I'm actually not so sure... the reason being that Cackle specifies "any targets within 30 feet" but while the scar talks about her "targeting" them at up to a mile. This would seem to imply that it's only her targeted hexes that she can hit them with, and I don't think Cackle is "targeted".

The Exchange

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Mathwei ap Niall wrote:
blahpers wrote:

I don't see any FAQ referencing scar. There is a FAQ referencing cackle:

Quote:

Witch, Cackle Hex: Does my character literally have to cackle madly when I use this hex, or is that just flavor text?

Your character actually has to cackle—probably in a strong voice, akin to the volume and clarity necessary for verbal spell components.

Edit 7/19/13:
If the witch is in a silence effect, she can't use the cackle hex.
If the target is in a silence effect, it is unaffected by the cackle.
This may require some clarifying text in the next printing of the Advanced Player's Guide.

—Pathfinder Design Team, 06/06/13

If they can't hear you cackle, it doesn't work.

Incorrect, it simply states that the silence spell stops your cackle from working. Nothing in that faq says the target has to hear it. If that where the case a simple thunderstone on yourself would make you immune to the hex without stopping you from casting yourself.

except the line:

Quote:
If the target is in a silence effect, it is unaffected by the cackle.

Does say that if the target is in a silence effect ( can't hear it ), it is unaffected by the cackle.

Scar Hex was from Ultimate Magic, its FAQ is in there, not in the FAQ for APG with the rest of the witch stuff:
Scar hex faq

The Exchange

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

and this FAQ fixed the cackle hex so that you can't cackle all day long and cackle-stack:

http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fn#v5748eaic9qoy

now its just once per round.

Dark Archive

Seraphimpunk wrote:
Mathwei ap Niall wrote:
blahpers wrote:

I don't see any FAQ referencing scar. There is a FAQ referencing cackle:

Quote:

Witch, Cackle Hex: Does my character literally have to cackle madly when I use this hex, or is that just flavor text?

Your character actually has to cackle—probably in a strong voice, akin to the volume and clarity necessary for verbal spell components.

Edit 7/19/13:
If the witch is in a silence effect, she can't use the cackle hex.
If the target is in a silence effect, it is unaffected by the cackle.
This may require some clarifying text in the next printing of the Advanced Player's Guide.

—Pathfinder Design Team, 06/06/13

If they can't hear you cackle, it doesn't work.

Incorrect, it simply states that the silence spell stops your cackle from working. Nothing in that faq says the target has to hear it. If that where the case a simple thunderstone on yourself would make you immune to the hex without stopping you from casting yourself.

except the line:

Quote:
If the target is in a silence effect, it is unaffected by the cackle.

Does say that if the target is in a silence effect ( can't hear it ), it is unaffected by the cackle.

Scar Hex was from Ultimate Magic, its FAQ is in there, not in the FAQ for APG with the rest of the witch stuff:
Scar hex faq

No, it says that a target inside of a Silence spell can't be affected.

It does not say that a target has to hear the cackle only that being inside a silence spell makes them immune to it. If it worked that way multiple creatures would be automatically immune to it and a simple 30gp item (thunderstone) would make your entire party immune, which I'm sure is not what's intended.


Mathwei ap Niall wrote:
Seraphimpunk wrote:
Mathwei ap Niall wrote:
blahpers wrote:

I don't see any FAQ referencing scar. There is a FAQ referencing cackle:

Quote:

Witch, Cackle Hex: Does my character literally have to cackle madly when I use this hex, or is that just flavor text?

Your character actually has to cackle—probably in a strong voice, akin to the volume and clarity necessary for verbal spell components.

Edit 7/19/13:
If the witch is in a silence effect, she can't use the cackle hex.
If the target is in a silence effect, it is unaffected by the cackle.
This may require some clarifying text in the next printing of the Advanced Player's Guide.

—Pathfinder Design Team, 06/06/13

If they can't hear you cackle, it doesn't work.

Incorrect, it simply states that the silence spell stops your cackle from working. Nothing in that faq says the target has to hear it. If that where the case a simple thunderstone on yourself would make you immune to the hex without stopping you from casting yourself.

except the line:

Quote:
If the target is in a silence effect, it is unaffected by the cackle.

Does say that if the target is in a silence effect ( can't hear it ), it is unaffected by the cackle.

Scar Hex was from Ultimate Magic, its FAQ is in there, not in the FAQ for APG with the rest of the witch stuff:
Scar hex faq

No, it says that a target inside of a Silence spell can't be affected.

It does not say that a target has to hear the cackle only that being inside a silence spell makes them immune to it. If it worked that way multiple creatures would be automatically immune to it and a simple 30gp item (thunderstone) would make your entire party immune, which I'm sure is not what's intended.

Thunderstone requires a save versus its effect. I don't know that for the specific item I would allow you to automatically fail that save because it's not a beneficial effect or one that is meant to apply to willing targets.

Even if you do assume they can auto-fail the save, the deafened condition has other penalties associated with it; they would lose initiative, have a a 20% fail chance on any spells with a somatic component, and take a fairly hefty penalty on sound-based Perception checks.

I think that the Silence effect's cancellation of Cackle means exactly that the target must hear it. If you choose to use a thunderstone to overcome the effects, you're imposing other penalties on yourself and your party in return.


Seraphimpunk wrote:

and this FAQ fixed the cackle hex so that you can't cackle all day long and cackle-stack:

http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fn#v5748eaic9qoy

now its just once per round.

Thank sweet lord Krishnu. That was super obnoxious, but I allowed it because it was funny to imagine them hoisting the witch around while just cackling madly non-stop for hours on end. It made some of their social interactions very awkward indeed. By the end of it they put him in the equivalent of a straight jacket and just told most passersby that he was insane and they were making sure he didn't hurt himself.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Witch hexes : Scar + cackle? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions