Gathuspia

Trypt's page

Organized Play Member. 5 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 10 Organized Play characters.


RSS


Not sure what your familiar is, but if you are using it in combat, to UMD (if improved), or any way in which it might be endangered, check out Stone Familiar.


The problem is that the FAQ does not really answer a very basic question, which would put this to bed - does the recipient of a hex that has Cackle attached to it have to hear the witch Cackling in order for the Cackle to be effective. Or even more simply put (because I just thought about spells like Message, etc.), do you have to be within 30 feet of the Witch to receive the benefits of a Cackle.

I have played with other players who cast Scar on everyone, Fortune on the scars, and then spends the ENTIRE game Cackling (they just moves a little slower and only takes one additional move/standard action per round), thus giving everyone an extra roll per round for EVERY ROUND, which is awesome as a player (though I did feel a little dirty), but as a GM it creates a situation where almost every player makes his/her saves, checks, etc., which kind of sucks.

Wait, now that I think about it, as a player, it is not that much fun either.

FAQ this please!!!


Really, this is a two-part question.

1) Can you hex a Scar with Cackle and maintain it for up to a mile with your move action?

2) If yes, can you also cast Cackle and, say, Evil Eye on an enemy and if you are successful with all three (scar, evil eye, and cackle), can you then keep evil eye going for up to a mile for pretty much forever (or at least as long as you cackle, which might be the entire game?

Thanks

2/5

That is how I think a LOT of people saw it. It seems like it is too much of a boon when you consider what you got for the retiring factions.

2/5

I know I am late to the game here, but I am running this in 2 weeks for the first time and I wanted to check up on two points (by the way, thanks to everyone for the clarifications in this thread - it is going to help running this A LOT!). Let me know if these are correct - if not, please correct me:

1) There is no net gain in ability scores if a PC participates in the ceremony and then eats a wafer. For example, a PC participates and is hit for 2 points of ability score - let's say 1 INT and 1 STR (player's choice). They then have 2 choices if they decide to eat a wafer:

a) Eat their or and return their ability scores to their previous levels and incur no profane penalty and not have to atone; or
b) Eat another's wafer and receive 2 ability points to any one score - for instance, in my example, they may choose to take 2 in STR, and end up down one in INT and up one in STR - they then have to atone if they are moved to evil.

2) Atonement - since they know it is an evil deed, the spell requires a 2500 additional component - that is over and beyond the cost of the spell as a service in PFS.

Hopefully these are both correct - if not, please let me know! Thanks