Quick Question - Stand Still

Rules Questions


Upon using Stand Still feat;

Does successful combat maneuver check against creature prevent him from making a full-attack or full round actions? From my reading of the feat, it simply makes target unable to move. It doesn't say that target wastes a move action in the process unless target already moved 5 or more feet during the round.

Thanks upfront for the answers,


Once you declare the action, you're locked in. It doesn't matter if someone counters with an effect that nullifies that action, otherwise you could just attempt to use the action again.

Player: I try to move past the Orc
GM: The orc has Stand Still *rolls* Ok, it works, your move is interrupted.
Player: Ok, well, I didn't move an distance because I was already next to the Orc so I still have my move action then. I try to move past the Orc again.
GM: ಠ_ಠ *rolls* You're still locked down.
Player: Hmm. Well, I'm gonna try one more time and, if it doesn't work this time, I'll just full-attack him.
GM: >.<#


But it says that you prevent target from moving, not that it loses a move action. A successful CMB check will stop his movement for that turn.

It worries me a bit, because target loses the move action even tho it didn't move even an inch. This is confusing me so I am asking if this is working as intended or I misunderstood something?


Kazaan's argument is that if it doesn't lose a move action (or even its ability to make a 5-foot step), the creature in question can repeatedly try to move past you (as a move action) until you fail, which essentially involves meaningless rolling of die, and wasting of time (and character resources).

The intent is that the creature is trying to move and as an attack of opportunity you can choose to instead negate the effects of the creature's ability to move with the action they take for that movement. Even if the creature takes a 5-foot or a full movement action, the actions are wasted if the PC is successful in their combat maneuver.


It's fine argument honestly. I can't say I have better one. It's just that my spidey sense is tingling when I hear that boss just lost his full-round action to attack after losing his move action to move. At higher levels, he ends up dead pretty fast like that.

So, even tho I believe those arguments, I would love to hear a few more comments, just to be sure.

Again, thanks everyone for answering upfront, :)


Kazaan presented an impossible example which has no bearing here
the Player attempts to move past the orc
the orc uses stand still
the player asks to move again
the gm says no, stand still says you cant move for the rest of your turn.

You don't have to worry about a creature trying multiple times, because it simply cannot move, so it can't even take the action.

The key thing about interrupts is that they occur before the triggering action is completed but after it has been declared. So a creature that tries to move away from you and provokes, is stopped before it has moved at all with stand still. However, this is just like any other interrupt. Once you have declared the action, it can be interrupted and lost if it isn't completed.

So a caster that attempts to cast a spell and provokes can be hit, fail his concentration check, and lose the spell and the action used to cast it. They don't get a second chance to do something differently. They committed the action.

In addition, if you ready an action to interrupt a caster, they can't change their mind and perform a different standard action in reaction to the interrupt. (Witch starts casting, gets interrupted, decides to use a Hex instead because it is Su and doesn't require concentration... this is not legal)

Similarly, if you were to trip a target rather than use Stand Still, they are still using their move action to move... but suddenly, they are prone and their movement mode becomes "Crawl" which will only let them get 5ft. Even though it is a move action to stand up, that is not the action that they declared, so they would need a different action to stand.

You do not lose a move action just because of an interrupt. In the example above, if you get tripped because you attempted to move you do not lose your move action.

You still have all of your actions. If you were tripped in the middle of a move action, that action would end, but that is different.

Spells can be lost when interrupted, but that is its own rule regarding spells, not regarding all actions.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Quick Question - Stand Still All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.