Unconscious from Nonlethal Damage


Rules Questions


When your nonlethal damage equals your current hit points you fall unconscious. How long does this last? Until you regain that one point of nonlethal damage, or one hour in other words?


Until you have less non lethal damage than you have hit points.


So unless somebody keeps pommeling you after you fall unconscious then an hour later when you heal that one point of nonlethal damage.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

I think it is 1 hour per 1 point, so how every many hours it takes to heal from -1 to 0 hit points.

If you take nothing but non-lethal and you have 50 hit points with a 10 CON, when you take the 60 th Non-Lethal you would die.

Liberty's Edge

PRD wrote:
Healing Nonlethal Damage: You heal nonlethal damage at the rate of 1 hit point per hour per character level. When a spell or ability cures hit point damage, it also removes an equal amount of nonlethal damage.
Quote:

You regain consciousness when your non lethal damage become less or equal to your current hit point.


Im talking about non lethal damage James, your post is for lethal damage.

Ok, so just to clarrify. My character has 16 hit points. He takes 4 lethal damage, bringing him down to 12. Then he is kicked for 10 points of non lethal. So he has 12 Hitpoints and 10 Non Lethal Damage points.

Next he is smacked for another 4 points of non lethal damage. This brings his total to 14, which is greater than his current hit points so he falls unconscious. He lays there unmolested, healing on non lethal point per hour so in 3 hours he will have 11 non lethal damage points which will be less than the 12 Hit points he has and he will wake up.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

rgrove0172 wrote:
Im talking about non lethal damage James, your post is for lethal damage.

No, my post was explicitly about non-lethal.

I felt it was needed to point out how you can die from only non-lethal damage.

If you have no lethal damage and a maximum of 50 hit points with a 10 CON, when you have taken 50 non-lethal damage and then take another 10 non-lethal damage. You die.

Core p191 wrote:
If a creature’s nonlethal damage is equal to his total maximum hit points (not his current hit points), all further nonlethal damage is treated as lethal damage.


James Risner wrote:
rgrove0172 wrote:
Im talking about non lethal damage James, your post is for lethal damage.

No, my post was explicitly about non-lethal.

I felt it was needed to point out how you can die from only non-lethal damage.

If you have no lethal damage and a maximum of 50 hit points with a 10 CON, when you have taken 50 non-lethal damage and then take another 10 non-lethal damage. You die.

Core p191 wrote:
If a creature’s nonlethal damage is equal to his total maximum hit points (not his current hit points), all further nonlethal damage is treated as lethal damage.

That's not quite correct. If you have 50 HP and 10 Con, when you take 50 non-lethal, you are Staggered because your Non-lethal damage equals your current HP. Then, you need to take 50 more damage from a non-lethal source to eat the actual 50 HP you have; the first point of lethal spillover will render you unconscious because your non-lethal damage now is greater than your current HP. Then you need to take 10 more damage to hit -Con and die. So it's 110 damage to kill you with only non-lethal sources in this example.


I believe Kazaan is correct. Once you have an amount of non-lethal damage equal to your current hitpoints, you become staggered. Any more non-lethal damage taken is then converted to lethal damage. If you have 12 HP and 10 non-lethal damage, then get hit for 4 non-lethal damage, you are now at 10 HP, 12 non-lethal. If you get hit for 10 more non-lethal, you will be at 0 HP, 12 non-lethal (unconscious).

EDIT: I may be wrong about when the conversion from non-lethal to lethal happens. You may get a small grace period. That is, instead of going from 12HP, 10 non-lethal to 10 HP, 12 non-lethal, you may just go to 12 HP, 14 non-lethal, then begin taking lethal damage next time you would take non-lethal. I don't have the book with me to check at the moment.

Shadow Lodge

Kazaan is correct. The nonlethal counter is essentially a shield layer, if you want a video game analogy. It counts up to your Max HP, then further nonlethal is counted against your actual HP. You can still die from "nonlethal" damage, but it takes a very long time without lethal damage to help it along.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Unconscious from Nonlethal Damage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions