Oil of Bless Weapon


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Can Oil of Bless Weapon be used in conjunction with Monk's Unarmed Strike?

I believe the answer is yes, but a PFS GM recently said "no". I think he was confusing Oil of Align Weapon which does prohibit its use with Monk's Unarmed Strike.

Thanks in advance.

andy

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Maps, Rulebook, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Bless Weapon does not work with Natural attacks, but does work with weapons. It has been ruled that a monk's unarmed strike is a weapon and not a natural attack. So it should work.


Tim Statler wrote:
Bless Weapon does not work with Natural attacks, but does work with weapons. It has been ruled that a monk's unarmed strike is a weapon and not a natural attack. So it should work.

Can you cite this?

Because the quote below would imply it's both.

Quote:
A monk's unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons.

Silver Crusade

I think it should work because a Monk's Unarmed Strike counts as either natural or manufactured.

Andy

Dark Archive

Agreed Claxon.

This line:

Quote:
A monk's unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons.

states that both Bless Weapon and Align Weapon would work on a monk (Align weapon would work at least until the monk count as "Lawful" at level 10) .


andy mcdonald 623 wrote:

I think it should work because a Monk's Unarmed Strike counts as either natural or manufactured.

Andy

Not either. Both.

Checking the spell description, though:

Spoiler:

Bless Weapon

[bSchool[/b] transmutation; Level paladin 1
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
Range touch
Target weapon touched
Duration 1 min./level
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no

This transmutation makes a weapon strike true against evil foes. The weapon is treated as having a +1 enhancement bonus for the purpose of bypassing the DR of evil creatures or striking evil incorporeal creatures (though the spell doesn't grant an actual enhancement bonus). The weapon also becomes good-aligned, which means it can bypass the DR of certain creatures. (This effect overrides and suppresses any other alignment the weapon might have.) Individual arrows or bolts can be transmuted, but affected projectile weapons (such as bows) don't confer the benefit to the projectiles they shoot.

In addition, all critical hit rolls against evil foes are automatically successful, so every threat is a critical hit. This last effect does not apply to any weapon that already has a magical effect related to critical hits, such as a keen weapon or a vorpal sword.

The spell only references "weapon"; it has no qualifier stating that the weapon must be manufactured. So, barring errata, it should work for manufactured weapons, unarmed strikes, and even natural weapons.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Oil of Bless Weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions
Share Spells limits