A Couple of Probably Simple PFS Questions


Pathfinder Society

2/5

Hey, I'm confused by a couple of things, and I figure this is the place to get a quick answer:

1. If I GM a scenario for a group of 4-5s, thus making it Tier II, yet I use the GM credit on a level 1 char, do I use the Tier II chronicle sheet or do I downgrade myself to Tier I?

2. I'm confused by item purchasing. I understand completely the prestige limits etc, but I am somewhat confused by what a player can buy. Can a player, for example, purchase a level 1 spell wand, but pay extra to increase the caster level? Provided the cost is below the prestige limit, can a player pretty much buy whatever he wants? For example, it isn't on any chronicle sheet but he wants a Belt of Giant Strength...can he buy it?

Thanks in advance for making this clear.

4/5

1. You apply GM credit to the appropriate tier for your character. As if they had played in their own group within tier (but without the opportunity for a day job).

2. Follow this, once you hit a "yes", you can buy it (provided you have the funds):

Is it always available (mundane items, +1 weapons or armor)?
Is it on one of your chronicle sheets?
Is its total value within the limits of your Fame (Fame = total earned Prestige)?

You can't buy scrolls, potions, or wands with increased caster level or metamagic applied.

Sczarni 5/5 * Venture-Lieutenant, Washington—Pullman

1. You get the tier you qualify for, being level 1 you get the 1-2 tier.

2. Wands, scrolls, and what not are all purchased at minimum caster level with minimum ability score except for specific items found on chronicle sheet, like if a chronicle sheet listed a CLW wand CL 3rd, 17 charges.

2/5

redward wrote:

1. You apply GM credit to the appropriate tier for your character. As if they had played in their own group within tier (but without the opportunity for a day job).

2. Follow this, once you hit a "yes", you can buy it (provided you have the funds):

Is it always available (mundane items, +1 weapons or armor)?
Is it on one of your chronicle sheets?
Is its total value within the limits of your Fame (Fame = total earned Prestige)?

You can't buy scrolls, potions, or wands with increased caster level or metamagic applied.

Okay, so let's assume the character has 22 Fame and thus can purchase up to 8,000 GP. He wants to buy a Belt of Giant Strength +2 for 4000 gp.

Is it always available? - No
Is it on a chronicle sheet? - No
Is it's total value within the limits of Fame? - Yes

Therefore he could buy it?

Grand Lodge 4/5

Yes, he can buy it.

There were two minor steps skipped over in the proicess, by the way.

Is the item legal for PFS? (Check the Guide to Pathfinder SOciety Organized Play and the Additional Resources list)
Does the player have access to the book (if it isn't Core) that the item is printed in? (The player needs to have the official rules for the item available, in case the GM is not familiar with it, and needs to verify how it works, or adjudicate interactions with it)

If the item gets a yes to any one of Redward's questions, and passes the legality/rules source available questions, it can be purchased.

5/5 5/55/5 *** Venture-Captain, Germany—Hamburg

Quote:
can a player pretty much buy whatever he wants?

As an addition to what has already been said here, characters can never buy custom items, meaning only stuff that has been printed as a ring, staff, wondrous item, weapon or armor enchantment, etc. can be bought. You can't use the table for calculating magic item costs (table 15-29 in the CRB) to create exactly what you need.

Grand Lodge 4/5 5/55/5 **

redward wrote:

1. You apply GM credit to the appropriate tier for your character. As if they had played in their own group within tier (but without the opportunity for a day job).

What if there is no appropriate tier, such as when you DM a 7-11 mod and apply it to a 1st level character with a 500 GP reward?

5/5

trollbill wrote:
redward wrote:

1. You apply GM credit to the appropriate tier for your character. As if they had played in their own group within tier (but without the opportunity for a day job).

What if there is no appropriate tier, such as when you DM a 7-11 mod and apply it to a 1st level character with a 500 GP reward?

That's what you can do with a pre-gen. GM credit rules currently has no stipulation for applying a chronicle to a character out of the level range, 7-11 in this case.

Grand Lodge 4/5 5/55/5 **

Sniggevert wrote:
trollbill wrote:
redward wrote:

1. You apply GM credit to the appropriate tier for your character. As if they had played in their own group within tier (but without the opportunity for a day job).

What if there is no appropriate tier, such as when you DM a 7-11 mod and apply it to a 1st level character with a 500 GP reward?
That's what you can do with a pre-gen. GM credit rules currently has no stipulation for applying a chronicle to a character out of the level range, 7-11 in this case.

Okay, then, rephrase. What about when you apply a pre-gen credit from a 7-11 mod to a 1st level character?

3/5

Don't you have to wait for the character to reach that level before being able to apply the credit? Don't have time to look now, will check when I get back from classes.

~NPEH

5/5

trollbill wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:
trollbill wrote:
redward wrote:

1. You apply GM credit to the appropriate tier for your character. As if they had played in their own group within tier (but without the opportunity for a day job).

What if there is no appropriate tier, such as when you DM a 7-11 mod and apply it to a 1st level character with a 500 GP reward?
That's what you can do with a pre-gen. GM credit rules currently has no stipulation for applying a chronicle to a character out of the level range, 7-11 in this case.
Okay, then, rephrase. What about when you apply a pre-gen credit from a 7-11 mod to a 1st level character?

I'm not sure I understand the question then.

If you play a pre-gen in a 7-11 scenario, you can apply that chronicle to a 1st level character with item access per the sub-tier played and gold marked down to 500gp, per the Guide.

If you're applying the chronicle from GM credit (which is what Redward was talking about), you can apply it to a character lower than the tier of the scenario, but the credit is held until that character reaches 7th level at which time they get a chronicle as if they played sub-tier 7-8. If the character permanently dies before reaching 7th level, the credit is lost.

Grand Lodge 4/5 5/55/5 **

Sniggevert wrote:
trollbill wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:
trollbill wrote:
redward wrote:

1. You apply GM credit to the appropriate tier for your character. As if they had played in their own group within tier (but without the opportunity for a day job).

What if there is no appropriate tier, such as when you DM a 7-11 mod and apply it to a 1st level character with a 500 GP reward?
That's what you can do with a pre-gen. GM credit rules currently has no stipulation for applying a chronicle to a character out of the level range, 7-11 in this case.
Okay, then, rephrase. What about when you apply a pre-gen credit from a 7-11 mod to a 1st level character?

I'm not sure I understand the question then.

If you play a pre-gen in a 7-11 scenario, you can apply that chronicle to a 1st level character with item access per the sub-tier played and gold marked down to 500gp, per the Guide.

If you're applying the chronicle from GM credit (which is what Redward was talking about), you can apply it to a character lower than the tier of the scenario, but the credit is held until that character reaches 7th level at which time they get a chronicle as if they played sub-tier 7-8. If the character permanently dies before reaching 7th level, the credit is lost.

I guess since the rules only specify how to apply gold in this case then everything else would default to normal for all other rewards, which would mean a 1st level would get the boons for tier 7-8. I was just wondering if this was ever specified somewhere.

Shadow Lodge 4/5

Yes, in the case of a pregen, the level 1 would have access to all items and boons of the subtier they played. Only the gold is reduced.

4/5

trollbill wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:
trollbill wrote:
Sniggevert wrote:
trollbill wrote:
redward wrote:

1. You apply GM credit to the appropriate tier for your character. As if they had played in their own group within tier (but without the opportunity for a day job).

What if there is no appropriate tier, such as when you DM a 7-11 mod and apply it to a 1st level character with a 500 GP reward?
That's what you can do with a pre-gen. GM credit rules currently has no stipulation for applying a chronicle to a character out of the level range, 7-11 in this case.
Okay, then, rephrase. What about when you apply a pre-gen credit from a 7-11 mod to a 1st level character?

I'm not sure I understand the question then.

If you play a pre-gen in a 7-11 scenario, you can apply that chronicle to a 1st level character with item access per the sub-tier played and gold marked down to 500gp, per the Guide.

If you're applying the chronicle from GM credit (which is what Redward was talking about), you can apply it to a character lower than the tier of the scenario, but the credit is held until that character reaches 7th level at which time they get a chronicle as if they played sub-tier 7-8. If the character permanently dies before reaching 7th level, the credit is lost.

I guess since the rules only specify how to apply gold in this case then everything else would default to normal for all other rewards, which would mean a 1st level would get the boons for tier 7-8. I was just wondering if this was ever specified somewhere.

It is:

Guide to Organized Play, page 6 wrote:
Chronicle sheets earned with a non- 1st-level pregenerated character to a 1st-level character with the amount of gp gained reduced to 500 gp (or 250 gp for characters using the slow advancement track). You do not lose access to any of the Prestige Points, boons, or items listed on the Chronicle sheets that were earned during the adventure.

4/5

trollbill wrote:
redward wrote:

1. You apply GM credit to the appropriate tier for your character. As if they had played in their own group within tier (but without the opportunity for a day job).

What if there is no appropriate tier, such as when you DM a 7-11 mod and apply it to a 1st level character with a 500 GP reward?

Well....crap. I had also thought that you could apply GM credit for a higher level mod to a new character with 500gp. Which means I have a 6th level character whose first XP is not legal.

How does one go about resolving that?

Shadow Lodge 4/5

You slap yourself on the wrist and promise never to do that again. It was a mistake.

[Edit]Not meant to sound flippant. You could do as kinevon suggests below, but I can see that going badly. What if you find that you wouldn't have been able to afford some purchases, do you redo them? What if it was a prestige purchase, like Raise Dead? Does your character suddenly drop dead from a wound he suffered levels ago?

Better to just let it be and learn from the mistake.[/Edit]

Grand Lodge 4/5

You resolve it by pulling that chronivcle, renumbering the rest down by one, adjusting the gold , and then inserting the pulled chronicle at the first slot, with the appropriate higher tier gold, that matches the minimum level for that chronicle.

Note, if the chronicle is for a 7-11, and your PC is only 6th, he still needs to reach 7th level before the chronicle can be applied.

You will also need to go through his purchases and money-on-hand to see if losing that 500 gp is going to cause any issues, along with the adjusted Fame limits on purchases made.

It's a bit of a pain, but at least the PC isn't 12th+ level...

4/5

Mystic Lemur wrote:

You slap yourself on the wrist and promise never to do that again. It was a mistake.

[Edit]Not meant to sound flippant. You could do as kinevon suggests below, but I can see that going badly. What if you find that you wouldn't have been able to afford some purchases, do you redo them? What if it was a prestige purchase, like Raise Dead? Does your character suddenly drop dead from a wound he suffered levels ago?

Better to just let it be and learn from the mistake.[/Edit]

I'm inclined to agree, but only because I can't think of a way to make it right without breaking other aspects. I don't mind going through the process Kinevon laid out, but I'm almost certain that pulling the first chronicle will mean he wouldn't have qualified for subsequent chronicles (e.g. he becomes level 4 for a tier 5 - 9).

I'll give it a shot, though.

Grand Lodge 4/5

Yeah, one of those ugly situations that seem to have no easy or pretty way out....

Spoiler:
Where is Staples "Easy" button when you need it?

Spoiler:
Explosive Runes!

Spoiler:
Sucker for punishment, aren't you? Hard mode Krune!

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / A Couple of Probably Simple PFS Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society