Question about Judgments by Inquisitors


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

I am trying to make sense of the mechanics of Judgments. I know that until an inquisitor is at 8th level, she/he cannot activate two judgments in the same swift action, but do judgments stack? If in round one of combat, the inquisitor activates Destruction, and then in round two, that inquisitor activates Healing, and then in round three, Smiting, do the first two wink out? Or do they remain for the duration, stacking with each other?

Thanks!
-Rodney


Not sure. It certainly doesn't say whether you can have multiple judgements up. I think they would remain.


You cannot run more than one judgement at a time, ever. At 8th level, you can pick two effects for using judgement instead of one. as a swift action, you can change one of your judgement effects into another effect. I hope that clears it up.


SRD wrote:
When the inquisitor uses this ability, she must select one type of judgment to make. As a swift action, she can change this judgment to another type.

That's just for a single use of the Judgement ability. If you're asking whether you can use multiple uses of the Judgement ability in one encounter to get stacking bonuses, I don't see anything in the rules strictly speaking forbidding it. However, since you can change the benefit you get from your judgement, I think the intent is that only one use can be active at a time.

Liberty's Edge

Thanks Writer and Vivianne! I overlooked that passage. I was afraid it was something I would have to look for an errata on.

Best,
Rodney


OK, I'm more confused than before I opened this thread.

I thought the idea was that a level 5 (for example) inquisitor could activate a judgment and give himself any one of the options listed (+ to attack, + to damage, + armor class, etc.) He or she could later switch that in the combat to something else.

I thought a level 8 inquisitor could activate a judgment ability and get two of the bonuses (for example + hit and + damage)?

Liberty's Edge

Sloanzilla,
From what I read in the responses, you are not as confused as you think.

You are correct: Until the inquisitor gains Second and then Third Judgment, the inquisitor can, as a swift action, activate a single judgment. Then as a swift action, that inquisitor can swap out that judgment for a different judgment. No two would remain active at a time. When Second Judgment comes on line, two judgments may be active. Three when Third Judgment comes on line.

-Rodney

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about Judgments by Inquisitors All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.