| VerdantSF |
Is the following sequence valid?
Round 1: A Halfling cavalier armed with a lance and on a wolf mount charges a goblin, ending in the tile directly in front of the goblin's.
Round 2: The cavalier uses a move action to put away his lance, then uses Quick Draw to wield a longsword with a free action. He uses another free action to order his wolf to attack, rolling a DC 10 Handle Animal check.
Round 3: The cavalier uses a free action to order the wolf to attack again, rolling a DC 10 Handle Animal Check. The cavalier then rolls a DC 10 Ride Check to initiate the "Fight with a combat-trained mount" maneuver so that he can attack with his longsword.
After the first successful Handle Animal check to order the wolf to attack, are more Handle Checks required for subsequent attacks, or will the wolf continue to attack on its own until told to stop?
Thanks in advance!
Bad Sintax
|
I would see it this way:
Round 1: You charge the goblin and end 10' from the goblin, since you have reach.
Round 2: Move action to "sheath" the lance, Quick draw as a free, 5 ft step closer to goblin, free action handle animal check, success means wolf full round attacks, Ride check to fight with combat trained animal, standard action attack with longsword.
Round 3: Ride check to fight with mount, full round attack, wolf full round attack (continuing to attack until told not to).
Some GMs might have a problem with all those free actions during round 2. YMMV.
Plus at level one you are looking at a minimum of +8 on your handle animal checks, with no cha bonus. So unless you roll a one, giving you a 9, you will auto tell it to attack. Until you reach level 2.
Michael Sayre
|
Just a quick note here, your wolf is the one charging, so if he wants to attack that round, he has to attack as part of the charge; he can't charge, stop, and then attack separately from the charge.
| VerdantSF |
Just a quick note here, your wolf is the one charging, so if he wants to attack that round, he has to attack as part of the charge; he can't charge, stop, and then attack separately from the charge.
I'm guessing that with a lance, the wolf can't attack on Round 1, since it's a reach weapon and the wolf doesn't have reach?
Another question. Let's say the cavalier kills that goblin in Round 3. On Round 4, he uses a move action to sheathe his sword and a free action to quick draw his lance. He used his own move action sheathing the sword. Is he still able to charge, since he's mounted and his wolf can still move?
Michael Sayre
|
***
Another question. Let's say the cavalier kills that goblin in Round 3. On Round 4, he uses a move action to sheathe his sword and a free action to quick draw his lance. He used his own move action sheathing the sword. Is he still able to charge, since he's mounted and his wolf can still move?
Yes.
You and your mount each have their own pool of actions, just like a druid and an animal companion. You just have different modifiers that kick in depending on the nature of the actions you're each taking.| Xaratherus |
Round 2: Move action to "sheath" the lance, Quick draw as a free, 5 ft step closer to goblin, free action handle animal check, success means wolf full round attacks, Ride check to fight with combat trained animal, standard action attack"
[edit]
My bad, below posters pointed out that I'm incorrect in what I said above. in the spoiler Ignore this post completely. :P
| VerdantSF |
Bad Sintax wrote:Round 2: Move action to "sheath" the lance, Quick draw as a free, 5 ft step closer to goblin, free action handle animal check, success means wolf full round attacks, Ride check to fight with combat trained animal, standard action attack"Problem here, you cannot use a move action (or substitute an action for your move action) and also take a 5-foot step in the same round. It's either-or.
But what about the separate action pools?
You and your mount each have their own pool of actions, just like a druid and an animal companion. You just have different modifiers that kick in depending on the nature of the actions you're each taking.
| Graeme |
Bad Sintax wrote:Round 2: Move action to "sheath" the lance, Quick draw as a free, 5 ft step closer to goblin, free action handle animal check, success means wolf full round attacks, Ride check to fight with combat trained animal, standard action attack"Problem here, you cannot use a move action (or substitute an action for your move action) and also take a 5-foot step in the same round. It's either-or.
That's not what I thought the rules said
Move Action: A move action allows you to move up to your speed or perform an action that takes a similar amount of time. See Table: Actions in Combat for other move actions.
You can take a move action in place of a standard action. If you move no actual distance in a round (commonly because you have swapped your move action for one or more equivalent actions), you can take one 5-foot step either before, during, or after the action.
That seems to say that if you swap your move action for an equivalent action (such as sheathing the lance), you can still take a 5-foot step.
Also, it's the mount that's taking the 5-step, not the rider. I'm guessing that also complicates the picture (but makes it even more likely that it's legal).