Question about Witch's cackle


Rules Questions


I created a witch for our pathfinder campaign. He is going to be a support character for the most part. So the idea is to cast a lot of hexes on enemies and cackle. However I tried to use misfortune and then move while using cackle. My DM is saying that I can only use cackle or move. Is that a good call? I understand that whether it is by the book and he doesn't like it, then it's his choice anyways. I just want to know for a future campaign with a different DM.


Cackling is a move action yes?

If you use a standard action to hex...all you have left is a move action

So you can either hex and move...or hex and cackle


if you hex someone as a standard, you can cackle as a move, but you can't move.

One thing I do often is hex them and then cackle. Then next round either cackle and move, or use my turn to double cackle, so I have more options for next round.

8th level is your best friend when hexes start lasting two rounds minimum (assuming they failed their save.)

Grand Lodge

Noctek wrote:
I created a witch for our pathfinder campaign. He is going to be a support character for the most part. So the idea is to cast a lot of hexes on enemies and cackle. However I tried to use misfortune and then move while using cackle. My DM is saying that I can only use cackle or move. Is that a good call? I understand that whether it is by the book and he doesn't like it, then it's his choice anyways. I just want to know for a future campaign with a different DM.

Your character would only have a 5 foot step available if you Cackled (move action) and used Misfortune (standard action). So your GM is partially incorrect if your recount of the situation is accurate. :)

Ninja'd by Drakkiel
edit: Ninja'd by Marthian


Ok thanks guys! I really like the double cackle idea and the 5 foot step :)

Shadow Lodge

You can't cackle twice in a single round.


One thing you can do is get a horse or another mount. Then you can hex and cackle and use your horses actions to move you around.

Of course when your horse gets killed you got a problem again.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about Witch's cackle All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.