How exactly does a haunted oracle deal with Swarms and DR?


Advice

51 to 55 of 55 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

I think the wrist sheathe is not designed to treat items as weapons so the curse does win. In any event Pathfinder needs a more detailed ruling on what can or can not bypass it.

I would guess that anything that is not the "draw a weapon" action other than spell components is affected by it.

Per the FAQ an item being in a sheathe does not grant an exception. Actually being a weapon is what grants the exception.


wraithstrike wrote:

I think the wrist sheathe is not designed to treat items as weapons so the curse does win. In any event Pathfinder needs a more detailed ruling on what can or can not bypass it.

I would guess that anything that is not the "draw a weapon" action other than spell components is affected by it.

Per the FAQ an item being in a sheathe does not grant an exception. Actually being a weapon is what grants the exception.

Which is odd, since the "Draw a Weapon" section actually talks about wands as a thing you can draw under the same conditions you can draw a weapon.


wraithstrike wrote:
Per the FAQ an item being in a sheathe does not grant an exception. Actually being a weapon is what grants the exception.

I don't see where you're getting that from. The FAQ I'm reading is differentiating the "retrieve stowed item" action from other actions. "Draw weapon" is just the action they used as an example. Being a weapon is not what grants the exception, either, because the example specifically says retrieving a stowed dagger is still affected.

Using a Wrist Sheath is not the "Retrieve Stowed Item" action. That's all it takes.


Simple solution, walk around with a wand in hand. It's easier to pull a weapon and attack with it, so why not do that in combat if the situation warrants it? You do not have multiple attacks, I'm guessing, so you're not giving anything up.


I think everybody is missing the main point in the Wrist Sheath's description. The item is dropped and as such lands away from the oracle 10 feet away!

On a serious note just expend 8 uses per day of a Wand of Unseen Servant. Ready action to give wand, move to receive.

51 to 55 of 55 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / How exactly does a haunted oracle deal with Swarms and DR? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.