Evangelist Cleric performance

Rules Questions

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32

I'm thoroughly enjoying the Evangelist archetype for Clerics on my first pathfinder character, and I have a couple of quick rules questions about how it interacts with other class abilities/items. I've spoilered relevant entries below.

If I were to take levels in bard in addition to cleric, would the cleric and bard levels stack for the purpose of the shared performances? My assumption is no, as it is not specifically listed that they do so.

Would I qualify to use the Banner of Ancient Kings wondrous item using Evangelist alone? Again, my assumption is no, as it specifically states a bard wielding the item.

If neither of these are the case, it certainly won't kill my enjoyment of the character, I'd just prefer to avoid uncertainty with PFS legality. Thank you for your time.

Sermonic Performance:
An evangelist gains the ability to deliver a select number of supernatural and spell-like performances through the force and power of her divinely inspired preaching and exhortation. This ability is similar in all respects to bardic performance as used by a bard of the same level (including interactions with feats, spells, and prestige classes), using Perform (oratory) as the evangelist's performance skill. However, an evangelist gains only the following types of bardic performance: countersong, fascinate, and inspire courage at 1st level; inspire greatness at 9th level; and inspire heroics at 15th level. Sermonic performance replaces the 1st-, 9th-, and 15th-level channel energy abilities. This caps the cleric's channel energy damage at 7d6 points.

Banner of Ancient Kings:
This tattered white canvas banner looks like an old piece of sailcloth, or perhaps a winding shroud—a 4-foot-by-6-foot rectangle with loops that can fit over a spear haft or pole running up one side. If mounted on a longspear or pole at least 8 feet in length, the banner shifts in appearance to match the heraldry or coat of arms of the person who attached it. If that person has no device, the flag instead displays a device that echoes the owner’s personality (such as a favorite animal, favored weapon, or holy symbol of the wielder’s deity).

When carried into battle, a banner of the ancient kings confers several benefits. As long as the longspear or pole to which the banner is attached is firmly wielded in two hands, its carrier gains a +4 circumstance bonus on Initiative checks. In addition, when so wielded, it grants the wielder and all allies within 30 feet a +2 resistance bonus on all saving throws against mind-affecting effects. If the carrier of the banner fails a saving throw against a mind-affecting effect, he may attempt a new saving throw against that effect every round he continues to wield the banner of the ancient kings—once he releases his firm grip on the banner’s haft, though, he no longer gets this benefit, even if he wields the banner properly at a later point while still under the effects of the mind-affecting effect.
If the banner’s carrier possesses the Flagbearer feat, the banner of the ancient kings doubles the morale bonuses granted by that feat. A bard who carries a longspear or pole to which a banner of the ancient kings has been attached is treated as four levels higher than his actual bard level for the purposes of determining the bonuses granted by his inspire courage bardic performance ability.

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32

Shameful and guilt-ridden bump of the questions.

In a home game I'd say yes, no doubt about it. "similar in all respects to bardic performance" is a pretty blanket statement, in my opinion.

In a PFS game... you're on thinner ice, and will probably experience table variation. "A bard who carries... actual bard level". I'd post this on the PFS forums, but if it were my table and I had to rule on the spot, I'd allow it to work. Magic items can't include everything, and you have inspire courage, and it's "similar in all respects to bardic performance".

The Exchange

Stacking class levels: No. Things that stack explicitly say so (such as a Pathfinder Chronicler or Battle Herald's performances stacking with Bard).

Banner: Yes.

PRD wrote:
This ability is similar in all respects to bardic performance used by a bard of the same level (including interactions with feats, spells, and prestige classes)

Although items are not specifically called out, it is all respects including. . . so the banner would function for an evangelist.

Edit: however if this is for PFS, 18,000 is a hefty chunk of change. The absolute earliest you can get this is level 7 (more likely 8 or 9) due to fame requirements. That only gives you a couple of levels worth of use before you get +3 normally at level 11.

It works. It not only states it's similar in all respects to bardic performance, but goes on to say that it interacts with feats, skills, etc. just as Bardic Performance would. So, not only can it work with the banner, but you can also get extra performances through the appropriate feat, use lingering performance, etc. This would also work with Sensei's Advise ability which also mimics bardic performance.

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32

That all makes sense. Thanks for your time and for your responses.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Evangelist Cleric performance All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions