Spell Storing weapons and touch spells


Rules Questions


Hello everybody!
I have three questions:
1. Can touch spells be stored in Spell Storing Weapons? 
2. Can even distance touch spells be stored in them?
3. Finally, can Searing Light spell be stored?

Thank you


Yes, touch spells can be placed into a Spell Storing weapon so long as they meet the criteria of "A spell storing weapon allows a spellcaster to store a single targeted spell of up to 3rd level in the weapon. (The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action.)".
A ranged touch attack spell could theoritically be stored into the weapon, but it would still only go off on a melee hit negating the inherent usefulness of ranged touch spells (for a normal caster) but melee types wouldn't care. Remember that Spell Storing can't be applied to Ranged Weapons.
It appears Searing Light could be stored into a Spell Storing weapon because it is a 3rd level spell, has a casting time of 1 standard action, and is a single target spell. As I mentioned before, remember that you still have to make a melee attack and hit the enemy, and then can unleash the Searing Light spell making a ranged touch attack, but you will still have to be adjacent to them for melee (or have a reach weapon).


1. Yes
2. No - there is no such thing as distance/ranged touch spells, as a category.

Such spells are "Effect:" spells, and (generally) lack the "Target:" line of the spell, which is required for spell storing.

Put another way, Ray spells (which are the vast majority of spells which require a ranged touch attack) are just like Burst spells (glitterdust), Spread spells (fireball), or Line spells (lightning bolt), except they can only hit one creature (per ray).

So, 3. No

4. To be clear, you can use ranged targeted spells, such as slow.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Storing weapons and touch spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions