five foot step and getting up


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

I put this in the search engine and I didn't find anything. If I am tripped and when my turn comes around can I get up and take a five foot step? I'm thinking since both getting up and retrieving a stowed item are both listed under move equivalent actions I can do this. Do you agree and if not, why do you disagree?


Yes you can. Standing up is a move action but not movement.

Shadow Lodge

Ciaran Barnes wrote:
Yes you can. Standing up is a move action but not movement.

The reason why I ask this is because I was playing PFS and had a tripping magus. Since, I could get myself to size large easily I was tripping at range. The GM, by no means is a fool and of which I respect his rulings, did not five foot step once the creatures stood up. I didn't want to look ignorant so, I didn't say anything. I was wondering if there was something I didn't know.


yes you can, move action is to stand up, then you can use your standard action to perform another move action. which can be used to move or take a 5ft step, it a good idea to get out of reach or get closer to target.


you can only take a 5 foot step if you dont take your move action....

Shadow Lodge

KainPen wrote:
yes you can, move action is to stand up, then you can use your standard action to perform another move action. which can be used to move or take a 5ft step, it a good idea to get out of reach or get closer to target.

Did you come by way of 4th edition? I only ask because a guy I play with, who also plays 4th edition, insists that a 5 foot step is a move action despite the fact that it is a 1/round free action in Pathfinder.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Perhaps the GM forgot, or purposely didn't have the bad guys step for some reason. It's kind of hard to be sure without asking the person making the decision.


Lobolusk wrote:
you can only take a 5 foot step if you dont take your move action....

...if you don't move as part of your move action. You can still take your move action on many equivalent actions and still five foot step.

Sovereign Court

Lobolusk wrote:
you can only take a 5 foot step if you dont take your move action....

Not true. I can use my move action to ready a shield and still take a 5 foot step. I can use any move action that doesn't actually make me leave my space and still 5 foot step.

Shadow Lodge

3 people marked this as a favorite.

The difference you need to be aware of is that a move action can be two things: movement, or a move-equivalent action.

Movement involves moving through squares, nothing else. Moving in the same square doesn't count.
Move-equivalent actions are any other kind of move actions which don't involve movement.

You can 5ft step and take a move-equivalent action, but you can't 5ft step and take movement.


Avatar-1 wrote:

The difference you need to be aware of is that a move action can be two things: movement, or a move-equivalent action.

Movement involves moving through squares, nothing else. Moving in the same square doesn't count.
Move-equivalent actions are any other kind of move actions which don't involve movement.

You can 5ft step and take a move-equivalent action, but you can't 5ft step and take movement.

This is the perfect resolution to this example, and explains well.

Standing up is a move-equivalent action.


Just to understand what everyone is saying, I must ask a hypo.

So, you are getting beat down by a barbarian. You take a five foot step back from the barbarian. Is every saying that after that 5 foot step you could not take a move to go another 30 feet from the barbarian?


Driver 325 yards wrote:

Just to understand what everyone is saying, I must ask a hypo.

So, you are getting beat down by a barbarian. You take a five foot step back from the barbarian. Is every saying that after that 5 foot step you could not take a move to go another 30 feet from the barbarian?

Yes. You don't get to move 35 feet with a movement speed of 30.

Now, if you had not taken a standard action, you could use it -- double move -- to gtfo.

Shadow Lodge

Orfamay Quest wrote:
Driver 325 yards wrote:

Just to understand what everyone is saying, I must ask a hypo.

So, you are getting beat down by a barbarian. You take a five foot step back from the barbarian. Is every saying that after that 5 foot step you could not take a move to go another 30 feet from the barbarian?

Yes. You don't get to move 35 feet with a movement speed of 30.

Now, if you had not taken a standard action, you could use it -- double move -- to gtfo.

Specifically, using the "Withdraw" action, so that the first square of movement doesn't provoke.


Orfamay Quest wrote:
Driver 325 yards wrote:

Just to understand what everyone is saying, I must ask a hypo.

So, you are getting beat down by a barbarian. You take a five foot step back from the barbarian. Is every saying that after that 5 foot step you could not take a move to go another 30 feet from the barbarian?

Yes. You don't get to move 35 feet with a movement speed of 30.

Now, if you had not taken a standard action, you could use it -- double move -- to gtfo.

Pretty sure that doesn't work.

You can "take a move action in place of a standard action" but you can only take a 5-foot-step if "If you move no actual distance in a round".

So swapping your standard for another move doesn't get around it.

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/combat.html#_move-action

Shadow Lodge

There is actual movement and then there are move actions. These are two different things. If you take a 5 foot step then you can still do move actions but you cannot use any kind of movement. It's pretty simple really. If you want to use movement in a round you have 2 options; you can use your regular movement (or double move, run, etc.) or you can take a 5 foot step. I thought Avatar-1 explained it quite well above.


Ximen Bao wrote:
Orfamay Quest wrote:
Driver 325 yards wrote:

Just to understand what everyone is saying, I must ask a hypo.

So, you are getting beat down by a barbarian. You take a five foot step back from the barbarian. Is every saying that after that 5 foot step you could not take a move to go another 30 feet from the barbarian?

Yes. You don't get to move 35 feet with a movement speed of 30.

Now, if you had not taken a standard action, you could use it -- double move -- to gtfo.

Pretty sure that doesn't work.

Yeah, it does. Move action to stand, standard action to move 30' away. Leaves me thirty feet away from the barbarian instead of five, out of his full-attack range. The five-foot step doesn't enter into it: I agree that I'd be thirty feet away, not thirty-five.


you can 5' then take a move-action another 25 (assuming 30' speed) however, it is no longer a 5' step... in which case that barbarian can, and probably should kiss you, then slash you.

You can withdraw 30' making the first square not subject to AoO. (std iirc, or full)

you can tumble.

(remember standing still provokes)
and as you move away, he can choose to trip you.

I guess you could crawl 5' away, but as this counts as double move is 10' and provokes... while you prone... and again the barbarian is gonna love you.


Mystic Lemur wrote:
KainPen wrote:
yes you can, move action is to stand up, then you can use your standard action to perform another move action. which can be used to move or take a 5ft step, it a good idea to get out of reach or get closer to target.
Did you come by way of 4th edition? I only ask because a guy I play with, who also plays 4th edition, insists that a 5 foot step is a move action despite the fact that it is a 1/round free action in Pathfinder.

Been Playing since 1.5 edition. A 5ft step is listed under move action in 3.0 players had book 117. as movement you can do when you preform no other movement or denied your move action. Maybe due to clarification needed as you see it was need and it was giving it own section in pathfinder and maybe 3.5 and made a none action. So it is not a 4th edition thing. I find most people that play 3.0 think of it this way, and it easy for them to under stand if you say it is a move action it make send to them. having it as none action confuse them much like TACH0 did in the past with + being bad and - being good. most people don't realizing but you are still using thac0 today, only the number have been reversed and 10 was added to it to get rid of all negative numbers. This why your ac starts off at base 10 for all creatures, to get rid of all the negative numbers. it would just be called THAC20 now.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / five foot step and getting up All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.