Archon Style, Cad, and Hold the Blade.


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Here is the scenario.

Cad and vanilla fighter allies fighting back to back. Each is flanked by goblin ninjas so that the cad and fighter are adjacent to all foes.
Goblin flanking fighter declares attack against fighter which would be a sneak attack. The Cad (who has all 3 Archon Style feats) diverts it to himself and takes damage.

Now. Cad also has Hold the Blade which allows for immediate disarm attempt when taking damage as part of a flanking or sneak attack. But Cad has class ability that makes him unflankable and unsneak attackable by the goblin ninjas (Craven Combatant).

Does Hold the Blade still work? Is it still a flanking or sneak attack once he diverts it?

Archon Diversion

Hold the Blade

Cad


On an unrelated note, I am not above bumping my question once.

Grand Lodge

DM Bloodgargler wrote:

Here is the scenario.

Cad and vanilla fighter allies fighting back to back. Each is flanked by goblin ninjas so that the cad and fighter are adjacent to all foes.
Goblin flanking fighter declares attack against fighter which would be a sneak attack. The Cad (who has all 3 Archon Style feats) diverts it to himself and takes damage.

Now. Cad also has Hold the Blade which allows for immediate disarm attempt when taking damage as part of a flanking or sneak attack. But Cad has class ability that makes him unflankable and unsneak attackable by the goblin ninjas (Craven Combatant).

Does Hold the Blade still work? Is it still a flanking or sneak attack once he diverts it?

Archon Diversion

Hold the Blade

Cad

In my opinion:

1. Archon diversion works, attack is diverted to cad.
2. Cad is not flanked by said attack if the prerequisites for Craven Combatant are fulfilled.
3. If Cad is not flanked, and is not flat-footed or otherwise denied his dexterity bonus, then the attack is not flanking, and deals no sneak damage.
4. If the Cad is not flanked, and takes no sneak damage, Hold the Blade does not work.

i.e. In this situation, the Cad is not flanked, takes no sneak damage, and the Cad cannot use Hold the Blade if he is using Craven Combatant successfully.

I hope this helps.

PS It would seem that Hold the Blade is a bad feat for a Cad who uses Craven Combatant.


Thank you much. That does help. I think I was juggling more factors in my head than necessary.

The issue was the phrase within the criteria of Hold the Blade "taking damage as part of a flanking or sneak attack" and whether it could be argued it was part of a sneak attack on another... even if the sneak attack was diverted and nullified by the Craven Combatant.

Thanks again, I agree with your assessment and post-script.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Archon Style, Cad, and Hold the Blade. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions