
Assiel |

It's disappointing to see these responses.
Relevant piece from Charge:
"A charging character gets a +2 bonus on combat maneuver attack rolls made to bull rush an opponent."
Relevant piece from Bull Rush:
"You can make a bull rush as a standard action or as part of a charge, in place of the melee attack."
Relevant piece from Overrun:
"As a standard action, taken during your move or as part of a charge, you can attempt to overrun your target, moving through its square."
Both Bull Rush and Overrun require a standard action to use, leaving you with a move action. (and swift/immediate)
-OR-
Both Bull Rush and Overrun can be used as part of a charge. Bull Rush replaces the melee attack and also gets the +2 bonus from charging to Bull Rush. Overrun replaces nothing with a charge, and you don't get a +2 bonus from charging to overrun, however you do still get the +2 bonus from charging to make your melee attack against the charged target.
Many people like to make assumptions, but the words simply are not there to make the claim that an overrun charge replaces the melee attack.
Did I miss something, like a FAQ stating something new? If not, then I cannot understand where the misunderstanding comes from.

![]() |

There's a lot of implicit text here, and probably a comma in the wrong place too.
For starters, charging has certain restrictions on movement;
If any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you can't charge.
So to start out with, you can't actually charge anything if there's a creature in the way. So then we have Overrun:
As a standard action, taken during your move or as part of a charge, you can attempt to overrun your target, moving through its square.
What does "your target" refer to? The target of the charge. What are you overrunning? The target of your charge. Because if there was anyone else in the way, blocking the path of your charge, that would violate the rules for charging.
It's possible that the meaning of this line is that you both
1) charge your target, making a normal attack, AND
2) attempt to overrun that same target
since there's nothing saying that the overrun replaces the normal attack, which is does say with bull rush.
This would explain why charging doesn't give a +2 to Overrun; because you're still getting that +2 on an actual attack.
I'm not entirely convinced about this reading, but it would tie up all of the loose ends.
The text is problematic in the sense that "as a standard action ... as part of a charge" is an impossibility. I think the comma is in the wrong place; it should be "as (a standard action taken during your move action), or (as part of a charge)", rather than "as a standard action, (taken during your move action), or (as part of a charge)."
---
And then there's the Charge Through feat:
When making a charge, you can attempt to overrun one creature in the path of the charge as a free action. If you successfully overrun that creature, you can complete the charge. If the overrun is unsuccessful, the charge ends in the space directly in front of that creature.
This feat implicitly allows you to charge a target if there's at most one creature in the way; you attempt to overrun that creature, and if you succeed, your charge goes off normally. If you fail, you don't get past the blocking creature.
Do you get to attack the blocking creature if you can't get past it? I don't think so. The charge was aimed at someone else. But in general we have a hole in the rules for how to handle it when a charge's conditions change in mid-charge, like when someone uses a Ready Action to move out of the charge lane.