Dimension Door clarification


Rules Questions


D.D. specifies that the caster can bring along one "willing" creature when he/she uses the spell. Is there no way to use the spell to teleport an unwilling creature? I'm looking for a Nightcrawler style "BAMF grab the person BAMF" kidnapping here. Any help would be appreciated! :)

Thanks


Unconscious characters are automicatically considered willing.

Sczarni

A failed will-save means you're willing.

Silver Crusade

Abadar wrote:
A failed will-save means you're willing.

The only thing that gets a save is an object that somehow gets a will save. If the object fails its save then it DDs, if it makes the save then it stays put.

No other creature gets a save, but they don't need to save since they don't go if they're not willing!


Unconscious is considered willing last I checked.

However there aren't that many spells that can transport people against their will. IIRC, there's Plane Shift & Ice Crystal Transport.


Nope. Even when you're unconscious you get to make saving throws, as crazy as it seems.


Unconscious is willing. (See Target or Targets under Aiming a Spell.) Catching the target while unconscious or making them unconscious is simple enough if that fits the situation.

Similarly, making the target willing enough (via talking to him/her before the event or by magic) to go along with the teleportation effect would work as well. Neither of these need to introduce anything new and would be completely understandable once everything is brought out.

Researching versions of dimension door and/or teleport that allow for unwilling targets would be the most flexible. Add a Will save and maybe a spell level (baleful polymorph is the same as polymorph, but Dolgar's dissenting dimension door would be more flexible than a save or die) and you're set. As a DM, though, that might be more flexible than I'd want my players to have.

Hope this helps!

Silver Crusade

Ansel Krulwich wrote:
Nope. Even when you're unconscious you get to make saving throws, as crazy as it seems.

Correct....but DD has no saving throw.

Unconscious creatures are considered willing for targeting purposes.

Target or Targets wrote:
Some spells restrict you to willing targets only. Declaring yourself as a willing target is something that can be done at any time (even if you're flat-footed or it isn't your turn). Unconscious creatures are automatically considered willing, but a character who is conscious but immobile or helpless (such as one who is bound, cowering, grappling, paralyzed, pinned, or stunned) is not automatically willing.


Completely missed that one, Parody. Thanks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dimension Door clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions