Casting Spells on an Invisible Opponent


Rules Questions


For some reason, the players in my group and myself have never really used the invisibility spell much, so I have a basic question from our last gaming session.

The PCs were engaged in melee with an opponent whom they were beating pretty badly. On his turn in melee, he attempted to escape by taking a 5-foot step and then drinking a potion of vanish (same effect as invisibility except just lasting 1 round.) The party's sorcerer was next and guested correctly that the opponent has become invisible and what square he was in. The sorcerer wanted to cast daze against the opponent, but I ruled this wasn't possible since you couldn't see him. The player argued spell casting should follow the same rules as a melee attack if you guess the correct square (full concealment=50% miss chance.)

Did I rule correctly? Thanks for the input!


More specifically you have to be able to see them..

Quote:
Target or Targets: Some spells have a target or targets. You cast these spells on creatures or objects, as defined by the spell itself. You must be able to see or touch the target, and you must specifically choose that target. You do not have to select your target until you finish casting the spell.


Which means you do have a 50% chance to get a touch spell off (assuming you'd otherwise hit), but I don't think that works for non-touch spells.


It works only if the target is within reach. If it is a spell, such as daze, and the target is not within a range of touch the spell won't work.


Yeah to cast Daze, you need to target a creature you can see or touch. You can't target a square an invisible creature may be in.

If you want to try to touch an invisible creature in a square, it's a standard action, but then you can't use Daze because that also uses a standard action. (Daze is not a touch spell).

I was thinking you could try to Grab the invisible creature, then next turn if you're still grabbing the creature, cast Daze with a successful Concentration check. But I don't think this works because you have to maintain the grapple with a standard action, and none of the following actions (move, damage, pin, tie up) includes casting a spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting Spells on an Invisible Opponent All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.