Mounts and reach

Rules Questions

So, I'm trying to figure out gear for an elephant-riding cavalier and I've hit a bit of a snag. The cavalier is medium, ie. takes up one square on the battlefield. His mount is large and takes four squares in total. Does the cavalier need a reach weapon to attack creatures in squares adjacent to his mount? The rules say:

For simplicity, assume that you share your mount's space during combat.

So is he somewhere in the middle of the 10' (thus requiring a reach weapon to attack outwards) or does he count as being 10' wide (thus being unable to attack adjacent opponents with a reach weapon)?

He counts as being in any square his mount is on, so he has 10' reach out from the mount.

If the mount were Hige, you might have to figure it out. The mounted combat rules are severely underdeveloped.

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

No you do not need a reach weapon. So share the mounts space, so effectively you are functionally a large (2x2) creature with your normal reach (pressumably 5').

If you wield a standard reach weapon, you would not be able to attack creatures adjust to your mount.

Okay, thanks. I'll probably give him a lance anyway just to look cool. ;)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mounts and reach All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions