Quickened spells with touch attacks


Rules Questions


The question is you cast a quickened spell, move and then try to touch a person and miss with that touch attack, can you use your standard action for that round to try and touch the person again?

I am pretty sure the answer is yes, but would like to get input.

Thanks.

Dark Archive

I believe so. You would still be holding your charge. If you miss again, I believe you would even be able to hold your charge until the next round, and even after that.

Shadow Lodge

I don't see why not. You spent a quickened spell to get two chances to touch someone, it's hardly overpowered.


yes you can, if you hit you could use a standard action to cast the spell again non-quickened and make another touch attack. Though in this case it is better to cast the standard spell first and then follow up with a quickened spell since it doesn't provoke AoO.

Dark Archive

prd wrote:
Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates.

There you go! :-)


I am confused by the original question. My understanding is that a character gets a swift/free action, move action, and a standard action per round. The question was, "you cast a quickened spell, move and then try to touch a person and miss with that touch attack, can you use your STANDARD ACTION FOR THAT ROUND to try and touch the person AGAIN?"

He cast a quickened spell (swift), moved (move action) and then tried to touch someone (standard action). How can he use (another) standard action (again) to try to touch someone in the SAME round?

I don't have an issue with the holding the charge part. Just the touching again in the same round.

Thanks in advance for the help understanding this question.


First Priest wrote:

I am confused by the original question. My understanding is that a character gets a swift/free action, move action, and a standard action per round. The question was, "you cast a quickened spell, move and then try to touch a person and miss with that touch attack, can you use your STANDARD ACTION FOR THAT ROUND to try and touch the person AGAIN?"

He cast a quickened spell (swift), moved (move action) and then tried to touch someone (standard action). How can he use (another) standard action (again) to try to touch someone in the SAME round?

I don't have an issue with the holding the charge part. Just the touching again in the same round.

Thanks in advance for the help understanding this question.

When you cast a touch spell, you get one free action attempt to deliver the spell, and you can take your move action to move before delivering the spell.


blahpers wrote:
First Priest wrote:
I am confused by the original question. My understanding is that a character gets a swift/free action, move action, and a standard action per round.
When you cast a touch spell, you get one free action attempt to deliver the spell, and you can take your move action to move before delivering the spell.

Blaphers is correct.

Also, every round your character gets:
1 Swift Action, 1 Move Action and 1 Standard Action
OR
1 Swift Action and 1 Full-Round Action.

On top of these actions, your character also gets an "some" Free Actions. The exact amount of Free Actions depends on your GM, but typically 3 is considered a good amount.

In this example that means the character casts a quickened spell (Swift Action), moves to an enemy (move action), deliver a touch spell that was cast this round (free action), casts a new spell (standard action), delivers a touch spell that was cast this round (free action).
Typically you would still have 1 free action left, although your GM may give you more/less.


Thank you MrCharisma (and Blaphers) for your responses and the good explanations.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Quickened spells with touch attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions