Tiems's page

Goblin Squad Member. Organized Play Member. 44 posts. 1 review. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.


Dark Archive

Or if you really like the idea of strategising or deviating from a standard paladin you might try the holy tactician archetype. It's closely related to the plan coming together, and having something more than just hitting in combat.

From a role playing perspective the paladin is a bit sub-optimal, but if you really want to stick to it there are still a lot of options available!

You could even look into some oaths that match your character's theme.

And lastly, always good advice when discussing paladins, talk with the GM about how he interprets the paladin code you have to follow.

Dark Archive

Well are many things to be said for a ranged paladin, but it will become quite powerful damage-wise. So that would depend in whether it fits the theme. Id recommend Dex as you're not really using wisdom anyway, and you don't need it for the will save. And Dex will help you with sneaking of course!

If you're going with a twohander you won't have to worry about holding your own in combat if you're getting the chance to smite.

Don't forget the armour expert trait that lowers the penalty armor imposes on stealth etc, btw!

Dark Archive

I'll get into it in detail further, but one thing to keep in mind is that pallies cast off of Charisma now.

Going by the comment for your wisdom score that might be one change you hadn't picked up on since making the switch. Also look at the wonderful changes to smite in detail!

Also, I agree with BBT that the inquisitor might be a great choice. The sin inquisiton, for instance, lets you see which sins dwell in the hearts of men. You will lose the ability to detect evil at will, though.

Going with the stealth as well you might want to look into the heretic archetype of the inquisitor.

Dark Archive

I just wanted to thank you, Mark, for the amazing reads!

This thread is a true joy to visit! Thanks for sharing!

Dark Archive

Well, you might be able to find it in the latest AP...

Otherwise I'd go with the winter witch archetype and prestige class.


Dark Archive

Still nothing. Is it supposed to link to a Facebook page in particular? If so, you might want to check its privacy settings.

Dark Archive

The link's not working for me, but it might just be Facebook acting up?

Dark Archive

Absolutely loving the iPad app!

Though I agree with protoman that the lack of being able to delete a portfolios rom the app itself is rather frustrating.

Dark Archive

The HD of your familiar never increase.
It gains more HP based on the owner's HP, but nowhere does it mention an increase in HD for familiars.

Dark Archive

If you have the extra content from the advanced race guide, choose witch and at first level select archetype -> scarred witch doctor.

Dark Archive

Or, potentially, craft the stone itself. Or have it crafted?

Dark Archive

MrSin wrote:
I thought I already mentioned the idea of making a custom wayfinder with 50 slots a few post ago to get rid of that pesty interference?

Yeah, you did. Which would bring it firmly into the realm of crafting fully custom items, for which no rules even exist.

Calling that OP is like calling the belt that turns you into a Tarrasque OP... Well. Duh.

Clarify; not an attack at you. It would be a valid option, ofc, but would show that it is certainly not within the original rules, nor makes wayfinders OP.

Dark Archive

maouse wrote:
No, you don't roll every time you put a stone in. You roll ONE 75% chance to see if you have an amplifying WayFinder.

The specific resonance you're using is in a list which clearly states the following:

"The resonant powers of the most common forms of ioun stones are listed below. "

The resonant powers of ... ioun stones.
Not of wayfinders.

Dark Archive

Let me just conclude by quoting the following.

A normal wayfinder has one slot for an ioun stone. The one with the highest number of slots is the wayfinder of Passage. Priced 136.000 or 68.000 to craft.

wayfinder of passge wrote:
Three slots on the inner side of the lid can each hold one ioun stone.

and it also mentions that

seekers of secrets wrote:
The auras of multiple augmenting wayfinders tend to interfere with each other; a person with one who tries to hold or carry a second usually finds that both sputter out in just a few seconds, but activate again once the second one is set aside. Some advanced, expensive wayfinders may hold more than one ioun stone at the same time and still function (though another wayfinder can interfere if brought too close).

So at best you can make use of 3 combat feats, for rogues, for which they meet the pre-requisites, provided that you spend 68.000 gp on crafting a wayfinder of passage, and craft the three ioun stones.

Dark Archive

Seekers of Secrets wrote:
"In addition, the magic worked into the wayfinder amplif ies the power of the ioun stone, usually (about 75% of the time) unlocking new abilities in addition to the stone’s normal power."

Are you arguing here that every time an ioun stone is docked it will have a 75% chance of producing an effect, which will differ each time you dock it?

Dark Archive

Maouse wrote:
you could just get some other Rogue Talents (selectable once each) at first level. So you can be doing bleeding crits, fast stealth, and ledgewalking all at first level... still OP since it is basically FREE to craft.

Bleeding crits? Really? I didn't know rogues had a BAB of +11 at level 1. Or the critical focus feat, for that matter.

Dark Archive

Well, as people have pointed out several times now, it is not the wayfinder producing this bonus, but the ioun stones.

Logically this would mean that the combat trick could be taken more than once, for different combat feats, if multiple ioun stones support this.

However, stacking them is mentioned as a problem since interference takes place.

I'm not really sure what you are describing with the last theory. But let me just say this; if you have a feat and you somehow lose the pre-requisites for this feat, you also lose the ability to use this feat. Once you meet its pre-requisites again, you'll be able to use it again.

And secondly, if it grants the knowledge of a single rogue talent--in this case combat trick--this would have to remain the same combat feat. You can't suddenly freely reassign an extra feat each level.

Dark Archive

Well if you want to craft an ioun stone that has a resonant power that says "You now have acces to a feat that you do not need the prereqs for" that would be wholly houseruled.

RAW, imo, you are not able to do so. Rogues would be able to gain a certain specified bonus combat feat they meet the pre-requisites for.

Dark Archive

Well first up, I think you are referring to the line "If the power is a feat, the bearer gains that feat as a bonus feat even if he does not meet its prerequisites"

It then goes on to mention feats like alertness, Blind-Fight, and yes "knowledge of a single rogue talent."

If you were to apply this to combat trick, I would argue you do not gain access to feats, since you didn't choose a feat from the resonant powers, but rather you chose the option of a rogue talent.

Since rogues taking this combat trick--namely a feat--would have to meet the prerequisites for said feat, I would argue you would need to do the same. Also note that this would then only work for rogues, since the resonant power (26) clearly states "If the bearer is a rogue, he gains the talent of this talent as if he had selected it."

Dark Archive

Inherent is a different form of bonus than enhancement, so it should stack.

It is probably confusing since it wouldn't stack for a "normal" person who doesn't have an inherent NA bonus to AC.

Dark Archive

Oh he was talking about a normal wayfinder? I thought he meant another form of wayfinder, like the few custom ones there already are—like the wayfinder of passage and so on—which would provide a custom resonance.

But yes, ioun stones provide the resonance in normal wayfinders.

And I doubt GMs would allow you to cherry pick from the "method 2" list in seeker of secrets, or come up with your own additional resonances.

Dark Archive

Yes, because GMs never have any say in what custom items can be crafted, right?
For more information: see the many threads complaining about crafting in general.

Furthermore, as MrSin pointed out, you've got some of the rules wrong.

Dark Archive

prd wrote:
Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates.

There you go! :-)

Dark Archive

I believe so. You would still be holding your charge. If you miss again, I believe you would even be able to hold your charge until the next round, and even after that.

Dark Archive

The simple reply to his response would again be 'no.'

But please, follow Kazaan's advice and ram the point home!

Dark Archive

It's not a spell but a supernatural ability, as such it's not affected by metamagic, nor does it count as a cure spell (which is easily identified by having cure in its name).

Dark Archive

Elosandi wrote:

Just going to point out that electricity isn't the only thing to watch out for. A Magus' cold damage is pretty significant too.

With the "Close range" arcana, he could be using the snowball spell for damage equal to that of shocking grasp, no spell resistance, and a stagger effect tacked on.

Is that true? I've wondered about this myself, but doesn't it work on rays only, or am I not reading it right?

Dark Archive

With the normal monster pounce it is most certainly possible to pounce in the surprise rounds.

The eidolon pounce is worded a bit ambiguously though, and I'd be interested if there's been any devs chiming in on whether it just gives pounce (ex) from the universal monster rules or not.

Dark Archive

jwood314 wrote:

So, how about a Kickstarter to publish all 6 in a single hard back bound book, with all errata, if there is any, and additiaonl artwork and maps and cool stuff? I know I would back this at quite a high level!


And congratulations! I loved playing through book 1, but sadly I had to move. I've since bought the first book and am hoping my group will enjoy it as much as I did!

Dark Archive

I'd go so far as to say she loses her resistances, since I'd consider it a physical attribute depending on her being-an-aasimar, not a mental one.

And I'd say you're spot on with the rules.
Keep in mind that if she attacks with a held weapon all natural weapons become secondary (-5) and that she can't use the claw she's holding the weapon with.

Dark Archive

KenderKin wrote:

Reminds me of an old oriental adventures game I was in we had a samarai and a ninja in the same party.

The samurai was human the ninja had night-vision, the ninja would string guards/people into trees and kill them while the samurai was saying things like...

"Did you hear something?"

and the druid would answer "Chipmunks most likely"

No the samurai never caught on........

That's pretty much how I play my paladin. If there's any dodgy work to be done he's kept in the dark.

Might be a little metagame-y at times, but it's by far the easiest way to keep the game going.

And his low wisdom and perception back it up, somewhat. He's somewhat naive and gullible when it comes to his friends in that he believes his friends when they tell him something.

And it also prevents the campaign from derailing too badly as the rogue can't do anything too evil in broad daylight.

Dark Archive

Calybos1 wrote:

Yes, there's a huge advantage to making your brain external and carrying it around in your hands where anyone can casually destroy it. Totally worth it. (/sarc)

You'd be amazed how many would do this with their soul! *cough* Lich *cough*

Speaking of, could a lich make their phylactery their bonded item?

Dark Archive

I'm afraid my arbiter would also be affected... I never realised this, though.
I hope my DM doesn't either.

And otherwise it'd be a matter of procuring some planar binding somewhere...
I'd hate to see my flying spellbook go, though!

Dark Archive

Ah damn, the forum ate my post.

Anyway; yeah what Kydeem said.
I'd personally take enhancement as an opposed school instead of abjuration though.

As for the familiar;

srd wrote:
If a familiar is dismissed, lost, or dies, it can be replaced 1 week later through a specialized ritual that costs 200 gp per wizard level. The ritual takes 8 hours to complete.

it only costs you some gold :)

Dark Archive

One thing to keep in mind if you're dealing with a master summoner and he's really going all out with summoning his minions is that it might be fun to have other players play, and get to know, his regular summons.

That way the rest of the table gets to join in a bit. This will certainly get more fun once you get to the higher summon monster X abilities that have exciting abilities themselves.

And the added benefit is that the master summoner doesn't hog all the limelight. :)

Dark Archive

Not to mention that monsters summoned this way actually remain for 1 min/level rather than 1 round/level...

Dark Archive

ZanzerTem wrote:

to counter summoners, hit them while they cast their summons! SM# spell line is a full round action. An arrow to the knee should force a Concentration check at least. Otherwise, bring more mooks to soak up the summons' attack.

AOE's tend to clear out multiple summons.

Summoners can summon using their spell like ability though, which only takes a standard action. So I'm afraid this particular trick won't work against summoners.

Dark Archive

Yeah, that doesn't sound like the paizo material he mentioned...

Dark Archive

Blitterbug wrote:
So when the archetypes say "Treat X, X, and X as class skills", how does that work? If the base animal has no skill ranks in those skills, it doesn't even get the +3 bonus. Or is this just another way to say that if the wizard/etc has a rank in those skills, the familiar gets a +3 bonus when it uses its master's ranks?

I think that's spot on, yes. Familiars use their master's ranks, so it seems like the correct interpretation.

Dark Archive

well, they sure do have something of a video game in mind...

Dark Archive

AD wrote:
hey, greater teleport at will.

Unless I'm mistaken summoned creatures can't use their teleport abilities.

Summon Monster I wrote:

A summoned monster cannot summon or otherwise conjure another creature, nor can it use any teleportation or planar travel abilities.

Emphasis mine.

That said, they still seem to be more than a fair match for a mummy, certainly.

Dark Archive

I agree with Drakhiel that it is somewhat ambiguous. Especially since the name of the ability is aquatic telepathy.

However, with improved familiar you could achieve largely the same thing, I.e., telepathy. Either through true speech familiars (cassias angel, etc.) who can speak with any creature that has a language for you, or if you're really going for telepathy, with the imp consular at level 8, who also has telepathy and could relay a conversation for you.

Since this is a 9th level power, I'd argue it's roughly balanced in a way that it shouldn't impact play too much at that level.

That said; does anyone know anything about rules for talking underwater? Maybe it's flavoured as a way to compensate for the lack of being able to communicate efficiently with allies; I imagine it would be particularly difficult when trying to actually talk to an ally underwater who is 100 ft away.

Dark Archive

I'd argue that it just does what it says; give you telepathy and in addition allow you to communicate with unintelligent aquatic creatures.

Telepathy is a normally defined ability:

srd wrote:

Telepathy (Su)

The creature can mentally communicate with any other creature within a certain range (specified in the creature’s entry, usually 100 feet) that has a language. It is possible to address multiple creatures at once telepathically, although maintaining a telepathic conversation with more than one creature at a time is just as difficult as simultaneously speaking and listening to multiple people at the same time

And unless the ability specifically mentions it overrides this normal ability, it doesn't change the base ability.

Dark Archive

As is mentioned in the Bestiary:

"About one out of every 20 drow is gifted with special powers from birth—the overwhelming majority of these exceptional drow are female, and as a result, drow society tends to be matriarchal in nature. These special births are engineered and encouraged among the ruling caste, and are far more likely to occur when the mother is of noble heritage. Strangely, the status of the father seems not to increase or decrease the chances of a child being born a drow noble."

This is actually a different 'race' altogether. You have the normal drow, and then the Noble ones.

The ARG offers a way for PCs to get the noble-ish powers, but does not actually transform the base race into the Drow, Noble race.