
Mistwalker |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

You do have a PC in addition to the animal, you know. If it's a druid, then it's a PC that's a 9 level spell caster. The druid should be able to manage without the animal, just as a wizard manages.
From what I recall, the OP said that the spell selection that the druid had was geared towards the AC.

![]() ![]() ![]() |

David Bowles wrote:You do have a PC in addition to the animal, you know. If it's a druid, then it's a PC that's a 9 level spell caster. The druid should be able to manage without the animal, just as a wizard manages.From what I recall, the OP said that the spell selection that the druid had was geared towards the AC.
Is there a reason to ever "lock in" one's entire spell loadout before an adventure starts? Why not just leave a bunch of spell slots empty, then prepare for the adventure after the briefing?
Plus, any wasted spells can become summon nature's ally, anyways.
-Matt

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Mistwalker wrote:Is there a reason to ever "lock in" one's entire spell loadout before an adventure starts? Why not just leave a bunch of spell slots empty, then prepare for the adventure after the briefing?David Bowles wrote:You do have a PC in addition to the animal, you know. If it's a druid, then it's a PC that's a 9 level spell caster. The druid should be able to manage without the animal, just as a wizard manages.From what I recall, the OP said that the spell selection that the druid had was geared towards the AC.
WAKE UP! I"ve had this problem sitting on my desk for three months but you're dealing with it NOW. No time for breakfast... *greater teleport* Welcome to mount kilamanjaro. There's less air here, try to be flexible about your oxygen requirements

Mistwalker |

Druids can always burn their spells to summon temporary animals. That is an incredibly powerful effect, especially in a situation like the one that is being described.
Druids don't have to worry about "locking in". They can burn spells for summons and buff the summons.
If the player has enough experience to always have printouts of the summoned creatures, with appropriately applied templates, with them.
Reading between the lines, the OP and his son seem to be new to the game, and may not have picked up on everything a druid can do, and to have prepared summoned creature sheets prepared ahead of time.
@Darrel, did your son have summoned creature sheet prepared? Or even aware that he could lose prepared spells for summon nature ally spells?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I know of only maybe 10 scenarios (although I can't name all 10) that have social situations in which as a GM I would not allow animal companions in.
And of all of the ones I can name off the top of my head, there isn't a single one where the animal companion is completely written out of the story and can't participate in the entire scenario.
Many of the Scenarios would allow you to recover your AC once the "adventure" part of the scenario starts, or whistle when combat starts so the animal companion shows up a few rounds into the combat.
Taking an animal into a tea party is 99% not appropriate, and a GM is well within their rights to disallow a veloceraptor into one.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

You do have a PC in addition to the animal, you know. If it's a druid, then it's a PC that's a 9 level spell caster. The druid should be able to manage without the animal, just as a wizard manages.
But as the OP said most of the spells prepared on the day were meant to work with the AC. I wonder if I wouldn't have allowed the PC to change out their spell list after the briefing?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

David Bowles wrote:You do have a PC in addition to the animal, you know. If it's a druid, then it's a PC that's a 9 level spell caster. The druid should be able to manage without the animal, just as a wizard manages.But as the OP said most of the spells prepared on the day were meant to work with the AC. I wonder if I wouldn't have allowed the PC to change out their spell list after the briefing?
I'm skeptical that they needed to have a specific spell list created going into a scenario that essentially tells you in the title and blurb that its a high society event.
If you know you are going to a wedding, chances are you also know its likely you won't be able to bring fluffy into the wedding itself. Plan accordingly.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

David Bowles wrote:You do have a PC in addition to the animal, you know. If it's a druid, then it's a PC that's a 9 level spell caster. The druid should be able to manage without the animal, just as a wizard manages.But as the OP said most of the spells prepared on the day were meant to work with the AC. I wonder if I wouldn't have allowed the PC to change out their spell list after the briefing?
I can't imagine a spell that works with the companion that won't work with a summoned critter.
Now if the newer player is not aware of the mechanic, I don't know what to say. The CRB is an assumed resource and every player should at least read through their own class features. Not just read how the animal companion works.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

No, he didn't have any summoned stats with him. I did suggest ST during the first combat, but by then he was already in a funk.
As to "a scenario that essentially tells you in the title and blurb that its a high society event", may I suggest you reread the blurb to the adventure in question (named behind a spoiler in an early post of mine) it gives away _nothing_ about how the game will go.
Was his summery that druids were being singled out correct? Well, the quadruped eidilon was allowed to stay...

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
No, he didn't have any summoned stats with him. I did suggest ST during the first combat, but by then he was already in a funk.
As to "a scenario that essentially tells you in the title and blurb that its a high society event", may I suggest you reread the blurb to the adventure in question (named behind a spoiler in an early post of mine) it gives away _nothing_ about how the game will go.
Was his summery that druids were being singled out correct? Well, the quadruped eidilon was allowed to stay...
If I had been the judge, I can easily see letting the AC into the "holding room" with the person controling it. Guard outside says..."you gotta wait for the boss in there, and ah... no way can you leave that critter out here! If it makes a mess on the floor, you are responible for it! And keep it from making a lot of noise too!"
it would be a great chance for some RP flavor! Make the druid PC work for it (and in the end, after a few minutes RP, let the creature in).
I do not recall any instructions in the scenario saying "No ACs".
And I realize that this is clearly a judges call - YMMV. It would depend on the AC also... if you have a Giant Skunk or a Camel? the guard is likely to keep you out in the street. If you have a Dog? or most other Medium sized animals? "Put a muzzle on it! Is this thing house broke? You got a licence for this creature?" In fact, I could see treating some Barbarian PCs much the same way... ("...Is this thing house broke? You got a licence for this creature?..." )

Mistwalker |

No, he didn't have any summoned stats with him.
Might I suggest that he develop the habit of having summoned creature stats (with templates applied) for the creatures that he may be summoning? And if possible, the appropriate miniatures?
This is something that I recommend for all Druids, Summoners and Conjuration Wizards. And what I practice when I haul out a PC that summons.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Eidolons can be dismissed and brought back if need be. Or the summoner can just summon stuff with their SLA.
from the Post above yours, it appears the eidolon was NOT dismissed and brought back. from the OPs post" ... the quadruped eidilon was allowed to stay..." when the AC was barred.
IN GAME: The VC selected the Druid for this mission, knowing that he had an AC (and likely knowing his reliance on it) and yet ...
IN REAL LIFE: the Judge could have adapted (IMHO), but for whatever reason (she felt constrained by the scenario, or was uncomfortable with playing with an AC, or felt the AC was overpowered, or ... whatever). Perhaps there are provisions for keeping ACs in that room? Perhaps it's been done before? This is one area where the Judge could easily have adapted the scenario - without changeing anything written, and would have given the player a better gaming experience...

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
How long does it take to open the bestiary and copy down a few key stats? Do it on other peoples' turns.
depending on the Player - hours.
This has been addressed in other posts on this subject. Some judges will not allow a player to summon anything if the player doesn't have the write-up already in hand.
And this is assuming the Player even has the bestiary with him ("...don't have the book at the table? No access.").

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

That's absolutely ridiculous. I've not seen any of those threads, I guess. That seems excessively control freaky to me.
I think it's fair to keep animals out of a formal gathering. Likewise, it's also fair for the druid to summon them up anyway when the crap hits the fan and have said animals trash the room in whatever manner is needed to beat the bad guys.

Mistwalker |

How long does it take to open the bestiary and copy down a few key stats? Do it on other peoples' turns.
From the comments for the OP, I am taking it for granted that they are relatively new to PFS (and likely to Pathfinder).
Players aren't required to own a bestiary. If he hadn't planned on summoning anything, he wouldn't have any real need to carry one with him. So that could mean that the only bestiary at the table was the one owned by the GM (and possibly on a tablet) who may not have been willing to lend it out (especially if it was in a tablet that was also being used to run the scenario).
The game is about having fun. Again, if I had been the GM, if I couldn't find a way for the AC to be involved, I would have allowed the option of changing the spell load-out, character, or provided the player with my summoned creatures printout.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
That's absolutely ridiculous. I've not seen any of those threads, I guess. That seems excessively control freaky to me.
I think it's fair to keep animals out of a formal gathering. Likewise, it's also fair for the druid to summon them up anyway when the crap hits the fan and have said animals trash the room in whatever manner is needed to beat the bad guys.
In the scenario the OP is talking about, the cover story has the PC arriving at the same time the formal gathering is going on, BUT they are not attending the gathering. They are "working class stiffs" stuck in an outer room until someone else can get to them. In fact, if they DID arrive dressed for a formal gathering, I would expect the guards to question this.
Hellknight guard to PC: "Do you always make deliverys in a formal evening dress?"in reply to your comment "...excessively control freaky ..." - well, this is the PFS boards! Some people would object to what color the feathers are on a Tengu... and what you name your PC....

![]() |
David Bowles wrote:Oh, the PCs aren't attending? Then what's the fuss?ah... that's what the scenario is about. You'd need to play it to understand (or it would be "spoiled" - IMHO).
Pretty much this... the scenario is a rather unique set of circumstances. My summoner actually did this scenario without his eidolon.