Flanking clarification


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

So the r.a.w. reads;
When in doubt about whether two characters flank an opponent in the middle, trace an imaginary line between the two attackers' centers. If the line passes through opposite borders of the opponent's space (including corners of those borders), then the opponent is flanked.

So if you have this layout, each number representing a 5ft square;

1|2|3
4|5|6
7|8|9

My question is if 4 flanks with 3, 6, and 9? Or only square 9.


4 only flanks with 6, in your diagram.


4 only flanks with 6. A line drawn between the middles of 4 and 3 would not go through opposite sides of square 5.


4 and 6 flank only.

Alt example:

{adding space}
.

1|2|3|4|5
6|7|8|9|A
B|C|D|E|F
G|H|J|K|L
M|N|O|P|S

Assuming D is the target, C flanks with E, + A, F, and L (w/reach for the last three). Same for B (w/reach).

H flanks with 9, + 4 and A (w/reach). 5 would require 15' reach to flank.

G (w/reach) flanks with E and 9, + A and F (w/reach).

Grand Lodge

That was very concise, thank you Majuba.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Flanking clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions