
![]() |

Tonights game and resulting conflict over Protection from Evil caused a rift in my game group and I'd like to appeal to the greater community for help with a rules clarification.
The situation:
Party: lvl7 Fighter, Lvl7 Rogue, Lvl7 Cleric & a lvl7 Wizard
Enemys: Two lvlX? HellKnights who summoned Bearded Devils and an unknown enemy possibly a cleric of Asmodius lvlx? and a Succubus.
Hellknight#1 Summons a Bearded Devil in front of the Fighter.
Hellknight#2 Summons a Bearded Devil in front of the Rogue.
Bearded Devil#1 Attacks Fighter, does damage.
Bearded Devil#2 Attacks Rogue, does damage
The Cleric cast Protection from Evil on the Fighter.
The Fighter then Attacks Bearded Devil#1
The Rogue Attacks Bearded Devil#2.
The Wizard casts Haste.
The DM then proceeds to attack the Fighter with the Bearded Devil#1.
I argued that with Protection from Evil, the Bearded Devil could not attack the Fighter. He argued otherwise. Long story short the night ended.
The first aspect of the spell wards a creature from attacks by evil creatures.. etc. Which I believe prevents him from being attacked.
The third aspect he argued that since the Fighter had attacked the Bearded Devil#1 that it could negate Protection from Evil and attack the Fighter.
Which is correct?
Protection from Evil
School abjuration [good]; Level cleric 1, paladin 1, sorcerer/wizard 1
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M/DF
Range touch
Target creature touched
Duration 1 min./level (D)
Saving Throw Will negates (harmless); Spell Resistance no; see text
This spell wards a creature from attacks by evil creatures, from mental control, and from summoned creatures. It creates a magical barrier around the subject at a distance of 1 foot. The barrier moves with the subject and has three major effects.
First, the subject gains a +2 deflection bonus to AC and a +2 resistance bonus on saves. Both these bonuses apply against attacks made or effects created by evil creatures.
Second, the subject immediately receives another saving throw (if one was allowed to begin with) against any spells or effects that possess or exercise mental control over the creature (including enchantment [charm] effects and enchantment [compulsion] effects, such as charm person, command, and dominate person. This saving throw is made with a +2 morale bonus, using the same DC as the original effect. If successful, such effects are suppressed for the duration of this spell. The effects resume when the duration of this spell expires. While under the effects of this spell, the target is immune to any new attempts to possess or exercise mental control over the target. This spell does not expel a controlling life force (such as a ghost or spellcaster using magic jar), but it does prevent them from controlling the target. This second effect only functions against spells and effects created by evil creatures or objects, subject to GM discretion.
Third, the spell prevents bodily contact by evil summoned creatures. This causes the natural weapon attacks of such creatures to fail and the creatures to recoil if such attacks require touching the warded creature. Summoned creatures that are not evil are immune to this effect. The protection against contact by summoned creatures ends if the warded creature makes an attack against or tries to force the barrier against the blocked creature. Spell resistance can allow a creature to overcome this protection and touch the warded creature.

Darkwolf117 |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Third, the spell prevents bodily contact by evil summoned creatures. This causes the natural weapon attacks of such creatures to fail and the creatures to recoil if such attacks require touching the warded creature. Summoned creatures that are not evil are immune to this effect. The protection against contact by summoned creatures ends if the warded creature makes an attack against or tries to force the barrier against the blocked creature. Spell resistance can allow a creature to overcome this protection and touch the warded creature.
The GM is correct, the fighter attacked the bearded devil, negating the protection against contact part.
The first part does not prevent him from being attacked. It only provides a deflection and saving throw bonus on attacks/abilities from Evil creatures.
The third part is what prevents contact with evil summoned creatures, and it is negated by the fighter having attacked before the devil's turn came around. So, while he would still have the deflection bonus to AC from the first part of the spell, the devil would be able to attack him.

IejirIsk |

IejirIsk wrote:What happens if you cast prot from evil on an evil entity?It works as normal against other evil creatures that would attack it. One does not need to be good too have protection from evil on, or even to cast the spell (at least for wizards).
I guess that means they can use spells to heal... >.> since they are touch? XD is an amusing way to kill a demon, i guess...

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Bearded Devil #1 is no longer affected by part three of the spell, and even before the attack by the fighter, could attack with other than natural weapons. Part 1 is still in effect after the fighter attacks Bearded Devil #1; the fighter still gets the bonus to AC and saves. Bearded Devil #2 is still prevented from making natural attacks against the fighter.
To OP: Given that part three specifically says it is negated by an attack by the warded creature (the fighter) against a summoned creature (Bearded Devil #1), what was your argument that BD#1 was still affected by part three?