
![]() |
2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

One of my players picked up the Guardian ability Call Arrows, and we had some head scratching when trying to figure out exactly how this works.
all ranged attacks targeted at allies within 30 feet to
redirect to you (even if you’re out of the attack’s range).
This causes the attack rolls to be made against your
Armor Class. This effect persists until the end of your
next turn, automatically retargeting any ranged attacks
away from allies and onto you.
Some questions:
1. Does the attacker need LoS to the Guardian?
2. Does the guardian need LoS to their allies?
3. How does cover/concealment/firing into melee play into this? Do you get the modifiers based on the original target, on the guardian, or none at all?
4. How would a spell like Wind Wall on the Guardian play out when using this ability? Would the Call Arrows override the wall or would the wall still stop ranged attacks?
Thanks!

KainPen |
Not sure about 1 and 2 but I would say the Guardian act like a magnet and LoS on him does not matter as even attacks out of range are forced towards Guardian. I also would think The Guardian would need LoS on his alley and the attacker. If he can't see his alley or attacker how does he know an arrow is being shot at him to even use the ablity.
3).I would say only effects of the Guardian matter as his AC becomes the target so cover,concealment,firing in to melee apply.
4). as number 3 so ablity like wind wall would on the Guardian would deflect the arrows after targeting him.
Good qustions that need clarifcation. This I think this ablity should not be useable in total cover as LoS is broken.

![]() |

Not sure about 1 and 2 but I would say the Guardian act like a magnet and LoS on him does not matter as even attacks out of range are forced towards Guardian. I also would think The Guardian would need LoS on his alley and the attacker. If he can't see his alley or attacker how does he know an arrow is being shot at him to even use the ablity.
3).I would say only effects of the Guardian matter as his AC becomes the target so cover,concealment,firing in to melee apply.
4). as number 3 so ablity like wind wall would on the Guardian would deflect the arrows after targeting him.Good qustions that need clarifcation. This I think this ablity should not be useable in total cover as LoS is broken.
Yeah, it is confusing. One of my players jokingly suggested having the Guardian being carted around in a locked safe thereby making both the group and Guardian immune to ranged attacks. Silly but feasible given how the ability is stated.

Tork Shaw |

My intention with Call Arrows was that the attacks would be re-directed as if they were originally made against the guardian. That is - cover would apply, according to his position, but concealment LOS would effectively be ignored, since he is calling the arrows to him. The projectiles would be subject to any effects that intervene, however, so a wind wall or similar would operate as normal.
Line of effect still applies, however, so the locked safe (or most solid, unbroken physical barriers) would not work. If it did, however, the value of negating ranged attacks for a limited number of times a day would by no means ouweight the value of having a mythic Guardian available to effectively take part in combat - so I'd be tempted to say 'go ahead', hehe.
You also make a good point about LOS/actual sight - how would the Guardian know when to activate his ability if he could not see the incoming projectiles..?
Please note this is unofficial feedback. Thats just what I intended.

KainPen |
So if I throw up my tower shield for total cover then use this ability, how does that work?
well considering the is ability not done on your turn, you can't put up your tower shield as that is a standard action which can be done on your turn. You can't do it. Now if on your turn you put up your shield,the whole LoS becomes issue you don't know to activate the ability because you can't see anyone attacking. It still comes down to clarification of numbers 1&2
here a 5th question for it. For attacks that are out of range do they fall short and not hit the Guardian, or does the attack just take the max penalty for long range attack?

Tork Shaw |

Thanks for the feedback. You mentioned limited uses, but I don't see that in the ability as written. Is that as intended or was there meant to be a mythic point cost?
Huh, weird. The intention was that activating this power requires a use of mythic power. I dont have the playtest rules in front of me at the moment but I am fairly sure that must be implied somewhere in the description of mythic power uses.
Again, unofficial feedback!
As for weapons range - I think I had imagined that range increments would be ignored since the attacks are being 'called' to the guardian.
If range increments were included, however, there would only be a maximum of 3 - since the ability only has a range of 30ft from the intended target.