Potion of Enlarge Person


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Well seeing as it looks like we will end up surviving the apocalypse I should try and find out my question before my next game. I want to know what happens when I drink a potion of enlarge person, or any other potion of a spell with a casting time longer than 1 standard action.

Quote:

Activation: Drinking a potion or applying an oil requires no special skill. The user merely removes the stopper and swallows the potion or smears on the oil. The following rules govern potion and oil use.

Drinking a potion or using an oil is a standard action. The potion or oil takes effect immediately. Using a potion or oil provokes attacks of opportunity. An enemy may direct an attack of opportunity against the potion or oil container rather than against the character. A successful attack of this sort can destroy the container, preventing the character from drinking the potion or applying the oil.

So from what I see the potion or oil takes immediately, does this mean that the effect of the spell happens immediately or the spell begins to be cast.

If the latter and you must wait the full round does the standard action it took to drink the potion count as part of the time of the casting?

Thanks in advance for all of the help i'm sure is to come.


The standard action it takes to drink the potion is all you need.

Yes, this means that drinking a potion of enlarge person is considerably quicker than casting the spell, or using a wand.

This gets even more extreme with things like lesser restoration, which usually takes three rounds to cast.


It works.

Just don't put it in little blue pill form.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Potion of Enlarge Person All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.