
prometheus's_curse |

1. Normally a nature knowledge check would allow me to have knowledge of a creature but in the case of a air elemental what happens, planes knowledge check? If I need that kind of check its not too likely that I will gain knowledge of a elemental's body any time soon...
2. Could a Whirlwind that is 20 ft tall, 10 ft at the top, and 5 at the bottom even fit multiple creatures? Large creatures I am thinking none period. Medium creatures cannot be more then 3 with in reason. Of course this depends on if the creature is even lifted up father then hovering.
3. Whirlwind, does it allow you to only affect a creature in a single square per-turn or could you keep moving and pick up others? so basically are you forced to stop when you make contact.
4. It seems to me that regardless of the size of the wind elemental they cannot affect more than a single square at a time. running the numbers no matter the size a whirlwind is no wider than 6.25 ft in diameter at 5 ft. (this is omitting two factors that creature is not around 20 ft tall... and the cover effect when on the ground.)
5. could you fly those captured in the whirlwind high into the sky and drop them for falling damage...? lol
6. Is the number of rounds you can whirlwind based on your stats or that of the elemental? I would think yours? Also what is the save based off of because if it is your stats then it could get quite high.
7. Can you take a standard action while maintaining a whirlwind? I would think no.

![]() |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Flyers have a chance to get out of a whirlwind each round. Non-flyers don't.
1. Knowledge (Planes) is required to know about elementals. However, my group assumes that a druid knows enough about the four classic elements to turn into elemental creatures even if they aren't trained in Knowledge (Planes). It feels silly otherwise.
2. Fitting creatures into a cone-shaped area is annoying. I would agree with you that the whirlwind you describe should not fit large creatures, but should fit up to 3 medium creatures inside.
3. Doesn't say anything about being forced to stop when you hit the first creature. In fact it specifically says you can pass "through" a creature's space, so I assume you can keep going.
4. Yes, using the cone you can only contact one 5ft square on the ground at a time.
5. Don't see why not.
6. I think the duration is based off the elemental, since you use the size of the elemental to determine the effect of the ability, but your HD doesn't change for other HD-dependent effects so I'm not 100% sure. The save is based off of the save for the equivalent Elemental Body spell. So if you are a 6th level druid with Wis 18 and turn into a elemental, the DC will be as if you had cast 4th level spell Elemental Body I (which is 18). If you are a 12th level druid with Wis 22 and turn into an elemental, you use the DC for the 7th level spell Elemental Body VI (which is 23).
7. Actually, it doesn't say you can't take a standard action, which makes me think that it doesn't change your normal options for taking actions. That said, if this is a home game check with your DM, as I could definitely see the ruling that a whirlwind can only double move, or that maintaining the whirlwind requires your standard action.

LifeofReilly |
With respect to Whirlwind, why wouldn't it be half the druid's HD plus the druid's strength bonus for DC?
Barring that- use the spell effect level (Elemental Body IV) and the druid's STR bonus as opposed to the WIS bonus. It seems a reasonable take that since the Druid *is* the Air Elemental in question, a STR based DC is appropriate.