natural 20 and combat maneuvers


Rules Questions


If a player rolls a natural 20 does he succed in his combat maneuver no matter the CMD of the target?

I have a player with a sorcerer with CMB +5 trying to not get eaten by a crimsom worm CMD 45, he rolls 20, does he scape the grapple?.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Nicos wrote:

If a player rolls a natural 20 does he succed in his combat maneuver no matter the CMD of the target?

Yes your combat maneuver automatically succeeds on a natural 20.


Maezer is correct. I believe the actual rules would be that CMB rolls are attack rolls and follow the same rules for them, that a natural 1 always misses and a natural 20 always hits.

Grand Lodge

Attack roll is an attack roll.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Or instead of speculating, comparing, or extrapolating, we could all just read the combat maneuver rules from the Combat chapter of the Core Rulebook:

Core Rulebook wrote:
Rolling a natural 20 while attempting a combat maneuver is always a success (except when attempting to escape from bonds), while rolling a natural 1 is always a failure.


I ruled that the sorcerer scaped from the maw of the crimsom worm btw, I suppose it was the right thing to do.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / natural 20 and combat maneuvers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions