Is pulling out an arrow or ammunition out of someone covered by the rules?


Rules Questions


Those pesky arrows must come out somehow. I figure it takes a standard action per projectile, but I could be wrong.

Grand Lodge

Manipulating an object: Move Action, also, provokes an AoO.


What do you mean?

Like yanking an arrow out of yourself or an injured teammate, or pulling them out of an enemy after you've shot them for re-use?

If the latter, I believe it's covered in the rules.

Hold up, I looked it up on ye olde wiki:

Quote:
Generally speaking, ammunition that hits its target is destroyed or rendered useless, while ammunition that misses has a 50% chance of being destroyed or lost.

So no, doesn't seem so. Though that "generally speaking" part suggests it's solely up to GM discretion or maybe for special ammo types.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You are using houserules doing this, as it is not covered specifically within the rules that this needs to be done.

As I said though, it would be considered manipulating an object, and the relevant rules for that apply.


A struck creature or an allied pulling the arrow or bolt out. That is what my question is about.

Blackbloodtroll has the lead. ;-)


For more clarity: a creature is struck by an arrow or bolt during combat. What sort of actions is pulling that arrow or bolt out of that creature?


goldomark, the rules do not cover the disposition of successful ammunition hits, other than the hit point damage.

In other words, strictly according to the rules, there is no arrow or bolt stuck in you to pull out.

Anything you want to do in that regard is purely GM discretion using whatever rules you feel apply most closely, or else just making it up yourself.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Noop! But if you're willing to bring it up, I'd be happy to slap ya with a point of damage and a standard action, if that makes you happy.

Grand Lodge

You are in houserule territory now. I have provided all I can for RAW.

You and your DM must create the rest.


So sayeth the Blackbloodtroll, so shall it be done.

Sovereign Court

Ammunition that hits a creature is destroyed per RAW.

PRD Equipment wrote:
Ammunition: Projectile weapons use ammunition: arrows (for bows), bolts (for crossbows), darts (for blowguns), or sling bullets (for slings and halfling sling staves). When using a bow, a character can draw ammunition as a free action; crossbows and slings require an action for reloading (as noted in their descriptions). Generally speaking, ammunition that hits its target is destroyed or rendered useless, while ammunition that misses has a 50% chance of being destroyed or lost.

--School of Vrock


I agree with blackbloodtroll house rule time
But i am quite surprised that a couple of post are quoting that the rules say the ammo is destroyed the ammo my be unusable again but its still there sticking out of you so it will need to be removed at some point


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The action of pulling out (or pushing through) of the projectile is Part of the Heal check or Casting of a Cure spell.
The damage cause by this is already included in the damage roll.


What BltzKrg242 said, and you rarely want to make Heal checks in the midst of a raging combat.

Silver Crusade

Could you use a Heal check that way to damage a prone enemy?

And if not, I'd go with bbt's original quoting of the RAW - move action, provoke AoO's.


Booksy wrote:

Could you use a Heal check that way to damage a prone enemy?

And if not, I'd go with bbt's original quoting of the RAW - move action, provoke AoO's.

If the enemy was helpless, not just prone, and you had the time, I would say yes. It would be a slower kind of damage than just stabbing them with a dagger, but if you can use Heal to fix wounds it makes sense that you could do just the opposite.

Sczarni

Per RAW, yes, the ammunition is destroyed or rendered useless. The question wasn't about pulling the arrow / bolt out and re-firing it, just pulling it out.

I'm with BBT on this one. Move action to manipulate an object and provoking an attack. BltzKrg has a point which could open up an interesting point for houserulings. Taking the arrow out would be part of a heal check or a cure spell. If all you did was use a move action to remove the arrow, you could inflict a point of bleed damage per round until healed with a cure spell or heal check.

*Shrug* Might need a little fine tuning but there are possibilities there.


The rules that govern recovering spent projectile weapon ammunition can be found on page 141 of the CRB. Also, here is a handy link to the applicable section of the d20PFSRD:
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/equipment---final/weapons#simple-ammo
(scroll down past the tables to find the "ammunition" entry under 'Melee and Ranged Weapons')

Also, I do not believe that there is any place in the current ruleset or in any official eratta that governs what action recovering said ammunition is supposed to be. This is most-likely an action that depends upon where the [arrow] is, if it is lodged in something solid, etc.
Typically, I'd relegate the action to "manipulate an item" (CRB, pg. 187), but we are told to reference table 8-2 to find out what sort of action we are attempting. Table 8-2 does not specifically list recovering spent ammunition anywhere, so I'd say that this part at least remains a gray area (i.e. TBD by your GM).

Liberty's Edge

The Saltmarsh 6 wrote:

I agree with blackbloodtroll house rule time

But i am quite surprised that a couple of post are quoting that the rules say the ammo is destroyed the ammo my be unusable again but its still there sticking out of you so it will need to be removed at some point

In most cases being hit by an arrow don't mean that you have an arrow in your lung sticking out of your body. It mean that you have been grazed by an arrow or have got some kind of flesh wound.

HP mostly represent your capability to reduce incoming damage dodging most of it, not being as sturdy as a oak or a dinosaur.


King of Vrock wrote:

Ammunition that hits a creature is destroyed per RAW.

PRD Equipment wrote:
Ammunition: Projectile weapons use ammunition: arrows (for bows), bolts (for crossbows), darts (for blowguns), or sling bullets (for slings and halfling sling staves). When using a bow, a character can draw ammunition as a free action; crossbows and slings require an action for reloading (as noted in their descriptions). Generally speaking, ammunition that hits its target is destroyed or rendered useless, while ammunition that misses has a 50% chance of being destroyed or lost.
--School of Vrock

I'd rather highlight that part, since it gives room for a DM to make exceptions.

Also, if I recall right, there was a rule in 2nd edition that let you loot arrows you've shot from dead targets.

(It might have just been a houserule though)


I would discourage a houserule here. It potentially makes archers more powerful. Worse, it may create frustration and annoyance for the players when the PCs are hit, who are used to handwaving the matter.


Archers and melee are still inferior to magic.

Knowing that, I fail to see the problem in such a houserule.

Sczarni

Axl wrote:
I would discourage a houserule here. It potentially makes archers more powerful. Worse, it may create frustration and annoyance for the players when the PCs are hit, who are used to handwaving the matter.

That's the great thing about houserules. If the players are annoyed and frustrated at the increased book keeping of the houserule, they can just throw the houserule out, cause it's a houserule.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is pulling out an arrow or ammunition out of someone covered by the rules? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.