Darkness and Reflex saves.

Rules Questions

A spell like Blacklight effectively gives those within, (except the caster), the blinded condition. The blinded condition states some penalties, however, a penalty to a reflex save is not expressly addressed. Say a fireball was coming at a blinded (in total darkness) character. Or, one of the pit spells was cast beneath it, how would a reflex save be affected? Would the reflex save (being dexterity based), take the same penalty as AC? (Losing dex bonus to AC). Would the -4 penalty to dex-based skills apply? Would both of these figure in, or perhaps just the higher of the two?

There is no penalty to saving throws for being blinded.

The creature cannot see. It takes a –2 penalty to Armor Class, loses its Dexterity bonus to AC (if any), and takes a –4 penalty on most Strength- and Dexterity-based skill checks and on opposed Perception skill checks. All checks and activities that rely on vision (such as reading and Perception checks based on sight) automatically fail. All opponents are considered to have total concealment (50% miss chance) against the blinded character. Blind creatures must make a DC 10 Acrobatics skill check to move faster than half speed. Creatures that fail this check fall prone. Characters who remain blinded for a long time grow accustomed to these drawbacks and can overcome some of them.

TEJ is right, being blind does not affect your reflex saves. However, a helpless character (like one affected by the Hold Person spell) has an effective Dexterity score of 0, which indirectly affects your reflex saves.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Blacklight, that's 3.5 Pathfinder, right?

Has it been reprinted?

I want my Inquisitor to have it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Darkness and Reflex saves. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.