Natural attack(s), secondary attack(s)


Rules Questions


If I were a ratfolk and got two primary claw attacks

Spoiler:
Sharpclaw (Combat)

Your nails are large and strong.

Prerequisite: Ratfolk.

Benefit: You gain two claw attacks. These are primary natural attacks that deal 1d4 points of damage.


and I also used a tail attack
Spoiler:
Tailblade: A tailblade is a small, sharp knife designed to be strapped to the tip of a wielder's tail. It takes a full-round action to strap on or remove a tailblade. The wearer can loosely attach the tailblade (without strapping it securely in place) as a move action, but using a loosely attached tailblade gives the wielder a –4 penalty on all attack rolls made with the weapon, and other creatures get a +4 bonus on disarm combat maneuver checks to disarm the tailblade. A ratfolk wielding a tailblade can make a tail attack, adding its Strength modifier to the tailblade's damage. Ratfolk are considered proficient with such attacks and can apply feats or effects appropriate to natural attacks to tail attacks made with a tailblade. If used as part of a full attack action, attacks with a tailblade are considered secondary attacks.

Would I have 2 attacks at full BAB (claws) then 1 at -5 with tail? Assume my BAB is 1 at 1st level.
If I wore a ring of rat fangs
Spoiler:
Ring of Rat Fangs

Aura faint transmutation; CL 3rd

Slot ring; Price 5,000 gp; Weight —

Description

This bone ring is the shape of an elongated rat biting its own tail. The wearer gains a bite attack as a primary natural attack. This attack deals 1d4 points of piercing damage for a Medium wearer or 1d3 points of damage for a Small wearer. After about a week of wearing the ring, the wearer's appearance becomes more ratlike, though she still looks like a member of her original race (for example, a human might gain prominent teeth).


I would need to choose primary attack, but would still have secondary attack available, right?

The example is just from what I'm working on. I'm just curious for the rules regarding natural attacks as a full round action. I read that a higher bab doesn't give you extra attacks with the same claw/bite/tail, but grants an extra for each limb available. So for instance if I had haste, I'm thinking bite, claw,claw, tail.
gather information : 1d20 + 0 ⇒ (14) + 0 = 14

Grand Lodge

You are using only natural attacks, and they are all primary.

This means, you get full BAB, and full strength to all.

Grand Lodge

blackbloodtroll wrote:

You are using only natural attacks, and they are all primary.

This means, you get full BAB, and full strength to all.

You didn't read the quoted part. The tailblade specifically says that it is considered a secondary attack as part of a full attack action.

For the OP, it looks like a full attack would be two Claws and a bite at full BAB and a tail attack at -5.

Grand Lodge

I did read it. It is a fault, as the line assumes you are attacking with manufactured weapons as well.

If you were to Full Attack with the tail alone, it would not suddenly become a secondary weapon, whilst not being so when you attack as a standard action.

That is a silly conclusion.

Dark Archive

blackbloodtroll wrote:

I did read it. It is a fault, as the line assumes you are attacking with manufactured weapons as well.

If you were to Full Attack with the tail alone, it would not suddenly become a secondary weapon, whilst not being so when you attack as a standard action.

That is a silly conclusion.

Actually you are incorrect here BBT. Tail attacks are ALWAYS considered secondary attacks per the natural attack tables. This listing is just another example of the author trying to clarify intent and mis-reading the rules.

Grand Lodge

Ah, yes.

So it would seem to always be a secondary attack.

It would easier to simply call it out as a secondary natural attack.


Thanks for replies. So when you get a natural attack, you get a natuaral attack, regardless of BAB? I was thinking of adding a gore attack to the character with a rage power. That seems wierd that BAB doesn't limit the number of attacks you get, but looking at some of the monsters in the beastiary, they seem to get the attack when they have it. (For instance dragons). What happens when your BAB gets to +6/+1?

knowledge check nature: 1d20 + 14 ⇒ (19) + 14 = 33


Kahn Zordlon wrote:
What happens when your BAB gets to +6/+1?

Nothing.

Natural Attacks: "You do not receive additional natural attacks for a high base attack bonus. Instead, you receive additional attack rolls for multiple limb and body parts capable of making the attack (as noted by the race or ability that grants the attacks)."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Natural attack(s), secondary attack(s) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions