
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Are you asking if they can change the rules so they can? Or are you asking if the current rules allow you to?
Currently no you can't, you have to take Spell Focus.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Actually does a PFS Wizard with an Arcane School have to take Spell Focus (that school)?
I always assumed they did not - that a Wizard could select any school they wanted as their spell focus - though logically they would tend to select a school they planned on casting a lot (assuming that school benefited from Spell Focus or later feats that depend on spell focus) and that Wizards would unlikely take a spell focus (opposition school).
I hadn't considered what to select in the case of an elemental school wizard (though I really should consider this as I've been thinking about making a character that might take Earth as his school).

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Actually does a PFS Wizard with an Arcane School have to take Spell Focus (that school)?
I always assumed they did not - that a Wizard could select any school they wanted as their spell focus - though logically they would tend to select a school they planned on casting a lot (assuming that school benefited from Spell Focus or later feats that depend on spell focus) and that Wizards would unlikely take a spell focus (opposition school).
I hadn't considered what to select in the case of an elemental school wizard (though I really should consider this as I've been thinking about making a character that might take Earth as his school).
They definitely don't have to take the same school, but more often then not, its beneficial to do so, since about half their spells will be from that school and they get a bonus slot for that school.

![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Though Abjurers and some Transmuters might not need it, since Abjurations generally aren't supposed to be saved against; likewise, Transmuters who mainly plan on casting spells on their team-mates could choose Spell Focus (Necromancy) or (Evocation) for spells where the DCs will come into account.