Counterspell questions....


Rules Questions


Hello,

Did a quick search but didn't see this being asked (at least not inthe # of threads i checked).

1) I can't find in the rulebook, how many times you can counterspell in a round. it states how the spellcraft check to ID the spell is a free action.

DOes this mean I can counter as many spells as I want in a round?

2) the way we did it this past weekend, if someone countered a spell, the spell they countered (ie. fireball to counter a fireball) was crossed off their list of spells as if they had just cast it. is this correct?

Sanjay


Unless you have feats, items or class abilities that modify it and there are that stuff. You need to ready an action to counter spell something. And need to be able to cast the same spell.(Few exceptions exist such as haste and slow) And since you actually cast it you lose the spell from your daily casting.

Short version
1) Normally 1 and you need to ready an action for it.
2) Yes they lose the spell.

Not my area of expertise, so hopefully I got everything right. All came from memory so would would check the rules.


Sanjay Shanbhag wrote:
1) I can't find in the rulebook, how many times you can counterspell in a round. it states how the spellcraft check to ID the spell is a free action.

How Counterspells Work: "To use a counterspell, you must select an opponent as the target of the counterspell. You do this by choosing to ready an action. In doing so, you elect to wait to complete your action until your opponent tries to cast a spell. You may still move at your normal speed, since ready is a standard action.

If the target of your counterspell tries to cast a spell, make a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + the spell's level). This check is a free action. If the check succeeds, you correctly identify the opponent's spell and can attempt to counter it. If the check fails, you can't do either of these things.

To complete the action, you must then cast an appropriate spell. As a general rule, a spell can only counter itself. If you are able to cast the same spell and you have it prepared (or have a slot of the appropriate level available), you cast it, creating a counterspell effect. If the target is within range, both spells automatically negate each other with no other results."

Ready


As an aside, last sunday I had to run a BBEG wizard against a 16th level PC Abjurer who was completely pimped out for counterspell. Reactive counterspell feat, plus he readied every turn for a counter spell. He was able to shut down the villain's spells AND quickened spells every turn, it was frikkan infuriating.


So this implies, if the casting occurs before your initiative, you can't counter it since you haven't had a chance to do anything?

And if you have already done something (ie. cast a spell), then you also can't counter if someone casts at you at the end of the turn?

Seems like one has to use the turn and wait to counter something but you can't really do anything as you want (unless it keeps a std action free to use for the counter?)

Sanjay


Sanjay Shanbhag wrote:
So this implies, if the casting occurs before your initiative, you can't counter it since you haven't had a chance to do anything?

Initiative Consequences of Readying: Your initiative result becomes the count on which you took the readied action.

Sanjay Shanbhag wrote:
And if you have already done something (ie. cast a spell), then you also can't counter if someone casts at you at the end of the turn?

Readying is a standard action.

Sanjay Shanbhag wrote:
Seems like one has to use the turn and wait to counter something but you can't really do anything as you want (unless it keeps a std action free to use for the counter?)

You use a standard action to ready to counterspell.

After you've done that, if something casts a spell, you can try to identify that spell as a free action (which we assume you can use outside of your turn). If you ID it, you can then use your readied action to cast the appropriate spell. When you do so, your initiative count changes to just before the creature that triggered it. If something else then casts a spell before your next turn, you can't counter it, because you've already used your standard action and you are no longer readied to counter.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
Sanjay Shanbhag wrote:
So this implies, if the casting occurs before your initiative, you can't counter it since you haven't had a chance to do anything?

Correct, if you didn't ready to counter on a previous round.

Sanjay Shanbhag wrote:
And if you have already done something (ie. cast a spell), then you also can't counter if someone casts at you at the end of the turn?

If you've spent all your actions, you don't have a readied action to counter.

Sanjay Shanbhag wrote:
Seems like one has to use the turn and wait to counter something but you can't really do anything as you want (unless it keeps a std action free to use for the counter?)

Readying an action is a standard action itself, so you could use free, a swift and a move action and THEN ready a standard action to counter-spell.

EDIT: Ninja'd by Grick

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Counterspell questions.... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.