Small Earth Elemental + Haste = ?


Rules Questions


This came up with a small earth elemental but the question is the same for any monster with only one attack:

A monster with only one natural attack adds 1.5 times its strength bonus as damage bonus. What happens to the bonus when the cresture gets another attack thanks to haste or silimar effects? Same question for the extra attack a Druid's Animal Companion can get instead of Multiattack.


I don't think one thing affects the other at all.


I'm not sure there is "a ruling" but I'd be tempted to say that since Haste and effects like it are supposed to be a boon not a penalty that it'd give you a second attack just like the first.

-S

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Blave wrote:

This came up with a small earth elemental but the question is the same for any monster with only one attack:

A monster with only one natural attack adds 1.5 times its strength bonus as damage bonus. What happens to the bonus when the cresture gets another attack thanks to haste or silimar effects? Same question for the extra attack a Druid's Animal Companion can get instead of Multiattack.

There is a difference between having one "natural attack" and one "natural weapon". A natural attack is made with a natural weapon. A creature that has a single natural weapon (such as a single slam attack) would still get the 1.5x damage if they got an extra attack with that weapon from Haste. Does that answer your question?


cartmanbeck wrote:
There is a difference between having one "natural attack" and one "natural weapon". A natural attack is made with a natural weapon. A creature that has a single natural weapon (such as a single slam attack) would still get the 1.5x damage if they got an extra attack with that weapon from Haste. Does that answer your question?

It would, if the rule was about natural weapons. However, the 1-1/2 STR modifier ist mentioned at at least twice in the rules. Once in the Combat Rules in the CRB and once in he Universal Monster Rules in the Bestiary. Both only mention the exception for creatures with one natural attack.

Don't get me wrong, I think the 1-1/2 bonus applies in these situations, too. I just don't think it's backed by the rules.

Also, a Tyrannosaurus Animal Companion with Haste and 3 attacks, each with twice its Str-Bonus to damage, sounds interesting :D


Blave wrote:
cartmanbeck wrote:
There is a difference between having one "natural attack" and one "natural weapon". A natural attack is made with a natural weapon. A creature that has a single natural weapon (such as a single slam attack) would still get the 1.5x damage if they got an extra attack with that weapon from Haste. Does that answer your question?

It would, if the rule was about natural weapons. However, the 1-1/2 STR modifier ist mentioned at at least twice in the rules. Once in the Combat Rules in the CRB and once in he Universal Monster Rules in the Bestiary. Both only mention the exception for creatures with one natural attack.

Don't get me wrong, I think the 1-1/2 bonus applies in these situations, too. I just don't think it's backed by the rules.

Also, a Tyrannosaurus Animal Companion with Haste and 3 attacks, each with twice its Str-Bonus to damage, sounds interesting :D

I don't think "Cartmanbeck" meant that the two rules you mentioned attually stated "one natural weapon" instead of "one natural attack", because you are right and they dont... I think he was trying to explain the difference between having "one natural attack" and having "one natural attack"... which is confusing...

For example:
A Boar has one type of natural attack called a 'Gore'. A human skeleton also only has one type of natural attack, but has (2) claws to make it with.

If they Full attack, the Boar gets (1) 'gore' attack at 1.5xStr dmg to his attack. The skeleton gets (2) claw attacks at 1xStr dmg.

If they use a standard action to attack the Boar still gets his one attack at 1.5xStr dmg, but the Skeleton that has (2) claw natural attacks still only gets 1xStr dmg to his (1) claw attack that round.

So the number of actual attacks they get in a round doesnt matter... as creatures they still have the same number of attacks regardless of how many they use that round.

So you cast "Haste" on both of them the skeleton would get (3) claw attacks each at 1xStr dmg, and the boar would get (2) gore attacks at 1.5xStr to each.

Hope this helps.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

I think this is a case of specific over riding general. The general rule is that creatures with one natural attack gain 1.5xSTR in damage. Haste is the specific rule granting the extra attack, but it doesn't make the attack weaker.


That's how we rule it, as well. Haste gives the spell's target one additional attack, which in turn mimicks their (usually the best or most beneficial) attack they have and can apply in the given situation; i. e. a wolf animal companion would get a second bite attack at highest AB with 1.5xStr and a(nother) free trip attempt.

Ruyan.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Small Earth Elemental + Haste = ? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.