Clerics switching deities / alignments

Rules Questions

What happens if a cleric changes alignment, or even more drastic, deities?
The rules under Ex-Clerics say only:
" cleric who grossly violates the code of conduct required by her god loses all spells and class features, except for armor and shield proficiencies and proficiency with simple weapons. She cannot thereafter gain levels as a cleric of that god until she atones for her deeds"

Does this imply a cleric can gain more cleric levels from a different faith? How does this work? What of changing domains between different gods?

I assume that first he ends up breaking from his current god (potentially endures a smiting) and then, when he gets an Atonement he just gets it from a different god. Sort of like a formal initiation.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clerics switching deities / alignments All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.