Casting time: when does the spell actually get cast?


Rules Questions


If a spell has a casting time of 1 round, does it get cast the next time the caster comes up in the initiative order? How many actions does it take?

For example: Wizard uses a move action, then starts casting a spell with 1 round casting time. On his next turn, when the spell hits its target, does that count as his/her standard action for that turn, or is it free since he/she used a standard on it the last turn?

Thanks.


It it has a casting time of one round it is cast at the beginning of your turn in the next round. It does not take any additional actions.
You still get your standard action in the next round.


You can't take a move action the same round that you cast a spell with a one round casting time. Its a full round action to cast the spell.

When the spell manafests on your next turn you still have your full rounds worth of actions available on that turn.


seiken wrote:
If a spell has a casting time of 1 round, does it get cast the next time the caster comes up in the initiative order? How many actions does it take?

Casting Time: "A spell that takes 1 round to cast is a full-round action. It comes into effect just before the beginning of your turn in the round after you began casting the spell. You then act normally after the spell is completed."

seiken wrote:
For example: Wizard uses a move action, then starts casting a spell with 1 round casting time. On his next turn, when the spell hits its target, does that count as his/her standard action for that turn, or is it free since he/she used a standard on it the last turn?

Since he moved, he would have had to use the "start full-round action" standard action. This means on his next turn, he must perform the "Complete Full-Round Action" standard action. Once he's done so, the spell completes. He still has a move/swift/etc if he hasn't already taken them.

If he didn't need to move first, he could have just performed the entire full-round action the first round, then when the spell is complete at the beginning of his next turn, he would have a whole turn's worth of actions left to him.


Thanks very much, everyone! I looked in the rules, but couldn't find this stuff for some reason.


If you used your Move Action this round and then started casting a 1 round spell, it would go off the next round and would use up the move action from that round. So it would go: Move, Start casting, use up move action and not move, spell completes and you make whatever choices you need to for that spell and resolve it and then you have a standard action for this round.


Oops....as usual Grick is correct. lol


I wasn't aware of t the "start/complete full round action" standard actions Grick. Thanks!


I did not even see him mention move actions. The information given by the others is correct.


concerro wrote:
I did not even see him mention move actions. The information given by the others is correct.

Who are you referring to? Grick? Because he's entirely correct.


Yeah.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting time: when does the spell actually get cast? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.