Weapon Finesse and Orc Double Axe


Rules Questions


Can you use Weapon Finesse with a Orc Double Axe?
And if you are a Life Orcale with Safe Curing (Su): Whenever you cast a spell that cures the target of hit point damage, you do not provoke attacks of opportunity for spellcasting. and useing a Metamagic wand of reach does that provoke a AOP ?


HammerBrother wrote:
Can you use Weapon Finesse with a Orc Double Axe?

I believe you would benefit for one end of the double weapon (the "light" end) but not for the end (the "one-handed" end).


Orc double axe is a two handed weapon, so no on weapon finesse. Even though the offhand part of a double weapon is wielded like a light weapon for TWF penalties doesn't make it an actual light weapon.

you mean a rod of reach? No still wouldn't provoke then, I guess.


what if the allie youre casting the spell on is counted as a enemy were playing in Serpet Skull and was the victim of the vault gas that makes you paranoid would it count as a AOP in that situation

Grand Lodge

HammerBrother wrote:
what if the allie youre casting the spell on is counted as a enemy were playing in Serpet Skull and was the victim of the vault gas that makes you paranoid would it count as a AOP in that situation

If the paranoid person can make a melee attack into your square, he threatens you and you provoke attacks of opportunity from him by casting. Normally your allies don't take these opportunities. If the effect says that he makes AoO against his allies, he can and does attack you.

Sczarni

I think either the Safe Curing ability or the rod of reach would protect you from an AoO by the person you were healing. Safe Curing specifically says that casting the spell doesn't provoke an AoO-- I see no reason why that wouldn't apply to the spell's target as well. And the rod of reach would (I assume) mean that you're outside of your target's threat radius, right?

Grand Lodge

Silent Saturn wrote:
I think either the Safe Curing ability or the rod of reach would protect you from an AoO by the person you were healing. Safe Curing specifically says that casting the spell doesn't provoke an AoO-- I see no reason why that wouldn't apply to the spell's target as well. And the rod of reach would (I assume) mean that you're outside of your target's threat radius, right?

My apologies, I read this as a new and separate question. Agreed that if an enemy wouldn't get an AoO for one of these reasons, an ally under an enchantment doesn't get one either.


There are three elements of the casting a spell upon an enemy (or an ally acting like an enemy).
First the spell: this provokes an attack of opportunity unless somehow avoided (Safe Curing, Casting Defensively).
Second: Touching the target if it is a touch spell. This does NOT provoke an attack of opportunity since when you are making a touch attack you are considered armed.

However, a ranged touch still falls under the ranged combat rules and thus will provoke an attack of opportunity.

Third: the saving throw. Yes, even an ally (who is acting like an enemy) can save versus a normally harmless spell.

- Gauss


Thank you very much


NP HammerBrother. Just remember that if the ally (that is acting like an enemy) will probably try to save against all of his former allies' spells unless he can identify them as not harmful to him.

Example:
PFE is cast upon the dominated ally (acting like enemy). A touch attack is required and then the ally would attempt a save against the PFE spell (even if identified) because even though it is 'harmless' it is no longer harmless to him. Only if you succeed will he get the new saving throw to throw off the domination.

- Gauss

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Weapon Finesse and Orc Double Axe All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions