Counterspelling HELP WANTED


Rules Questions


Ok, I'm a DM and I'm going to have a "situation". So i went to the rules to preventibly know the answer... and still not sure.

Situation: got a bad sorcerer with greater invisibility who is going to be casting fireballs to a bunch of good adventurers... what if they want to counterspell. Sounds reasonable way to go for me.

COUNTERSPELLING(pag 207): http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/magic.html

Spellcraft check (DC 15 + the spell's level) + cast the apropiate spell (fireball in this case) = automatic counterspell. Or you may try dispell magic without spellcraft check (or maybe try this way if you fail to id the spell beeing cast).

QUESTIONS:

1. If bad sorcerer is invisible they just hear arcane words, so that must be a harder Spellcraft check ¿How much?
2. If bad sorcerer is invisible ¿Do they have to pinpoint him "to know where to aim" before atempting a counterspell?
3. If bad sorcerer quickens magic missile or another spell (quicken = no verbal or somatic) ¿Can it be countered at all?

OTHER THINGS I DONT UNDERSTAND AND DONT KNOW IF THERE IS AN ERRATA, DIDNT FIND IT ANYWAY:

Spell-like abilities cannot be used to counterspell, NOT CAN they be counterspelled. (pag 221)

Appendix 1 (pag 554) ... Spell-like abilities CAN BE dispelled and counterspelled as normal

4. ¿Any errata for this i haven't seen? ¿Or does this mean they can be countered with dispell magic but not with the same (or opposite) spell. Ej fireball vs fireball or haste vs slow?

5. It's the same for item creation: 5+CL (Magic Item Creation: pag 548) or 10+CL (Item Creation Feats : pag 112). ¿Which one is correct?

---------------

Spellike Abilities (pag 221)

Spell-Like Abilities: Usually, a spell-like ability works just like the spell of that name. A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, or material component, nor does it require a focus. The user activates it mentally. Armor never affects a spell-like ability's use, even if the ability resembles an arcane spell with a somatic component.

A spell-like ability has a casting time of 1 standard action unless noted otherwise in the ability or spell description. In all other ways, a spell-like ability functions just like a spell.

Spell-like abilities are subject to spell resistance and dispel magic. They do not function in areas where magic is suppressed or negated. Spell-like abilities cannot be used to counterspell, nor can they be counterspelled.

If a character class grants a spell-like ability that is not based on an actual spell, the ability's effective spell level is equal to the highest-level class spell the character can cast, and is cast at the class level the ability is granted.

PDT: I'm spanish and this is a big post, I hope i made myself understand and I didn't kick the dictionary too many times with my poor english, any help with this is also welcome ;-)


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

1, 2, 3: You cannot dispel (or counterspell) something you can't see (short of being able to touch it). You need a viable target.

4: Spell-like abilities can be dispelled, but they cannot be countered.

5: Magic item creation has a base DC of 5+CL.

Hope that helps.

Also, here's an awesome counterspeller/dispeller build.


Ravingdork wrote:


Hope that helps.

Sure it helps. Thanks.

Ravingdork wrote:


5: Magic item creation has a base DC of 5+CL.

¿Do you know where is the oficial errata or something like that?

Sczarni

Ravingdork wrote:

1, 2, 3: You cannot dispel (or counterspell) something you can't see (short of being able to touch it). You need a viable target.

4: Spell-like abilities can be dispelled, but they cannot be countered.

5: Magic item creation has a base DC of 5+CL.

Hope that helps.

Also, here's an awesome counterspeller/dispeller build.

1.2.3. you can't counterspell something you can't percieve... spell effects are visible even if a person is invisible. ergo you CAN counterspell it.

ps. page 554 Spell-Like Abilities (Sp): ... Spell-like
abilities can be dispelled and counterspelled as normal.

So wrong on 4 as well.

5. Magic item creation has a base DC of 5 + CL for using a SKILL. for using SPELLCRAFT with it it is 10 + CL (per RAW)


maouse wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

1, 2, 3: You cannot dispel (or counterspell) something you can't see (short of being able to touch it). You need a viable target.

4: Spell-like abilities can be dispelled, but they cannot be countered.

5: Magic item creation has a base DC of 5+CL.

Hope that helps.

Also, here's an awesome counterspeller/dispeller build.

1.2.3. you can't counterspell something you can't percieve... spell effects are visible even if a person is invisible. ergo you CAN counterspell it.

Some spells don't have visible effects, and the ones that do normally take place after the spell is cast such as fireball. After the spell is cast you must resort to knowledge arcane. Spellcraft is for identifying spells while they are being cast.

Sczarni

see page 554... you can counterspell "thought" spells (spell-like abilities). You can also counter silent, stilled, and any OTHER METAMAGIC feated spells. Per RAW meta-magic feats have no effect on counterspelling. There's a LONG thread about all this...


Adriel Naur wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:


Hope that helps.

Sure it helps. Thanks.

Ravingdork wrote:


5: Magic item creation has a base DC of 5+CL.
¿Do you know where is the oficial errata or something like that?
PRD/Magic Item Creation Section wrote:

Magic Item Creation

To create magic items, spellcasters use special feats which allow them to invest time and money in an item's creation. At the end of this process, the spellcaster must make a single skill check (usually Spellcraft, but sometimes another skill) to finish the item. If an item type has multiple possible skills, you choose which skill to make the check with. The DC to create a magic item is 5 + the caster level for the item. Failing this check means that the item does not function and the materials and time are wasted. Failing this check by 5 or more results in a cursed item (see Cursed Items for more information).

Be sure you are looking at the latest version of the book or the PRD


maouse wrote:
see page 554... you can counterspell "thought" spells (spell-like abilities). You can also counter silent, stilled, and any OTHER METAMAGIC feated spells. Per RAW meta-magic feats have no effect on counterspelling. There's a LONG thread about all this...

You can not counterspell SLA's. There was once a time when the book said you could on one page, and said you could not on another. They finally got it fixed.

Quote:
Spell-Like Abilities (Sp): Spell-like abilities, as the name implies, are magical abilities that are very much like spells. Spell-like abilities are subject to spell resistance and dispel magic. They do not function in areas where magic is suppressed or negated (such as an antimagic field). Spell-like abilities can be dispelled but they cannot be counterspelled or used to counterspell.

Sczarni

page 112: Skill Check: Successfully creating a magic item requires
a Spellcraft check with a DC equal to 10 + the item’s caster
level. Alternatively, you can use an associated Craft or
Profession skill to attempt this check instead, depending
upon the item being crafted. See pages 550–553 in Chapter
15 for more details on which Craft and Profession checks
may be substituted in this manner.

Page 550-553 are where you got the 5 + CL from...


I see they have not fixed the magic item creation rule though. I thought they had taken care of that.

Sczarni

well, I am downloading the erata (thought I had) atm so will check to see if they ever changed it from page 112. Not a lot about the item creation makes sense (you just need the skill to make an item (masterwork is only required for weapons and armor), and then you can use any skill with master craftsman to enhance them...

Sczarni

well, I don't see any ERATA for page 554... so it would seem that you CAN counter SLAs...

so let's see if page 221 had its definition changed (that is the page quoted as saying they cannot be counterspelled). Only erata there is on the fourth paragraph, so that is no help.


What I just posted the was updated version. Before it was said that you can counter them.

prd/magic chapter wrote:

Special Abilities

A number of classes and creatures gain the use of special abilities, many of which function like spells.

Spell-Like Abilities: Usually, a spell-like ability works just like the spell of that name. A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, or material component, nor does it require a focus. The user activates it mentally. Armor never affects a spell-like ability's use, even if the ability resembles an arcane spell with a somatic component.

A spell-like ability has a casting time of 1 standard action unless noted otherwise in the ability or spell description. In all other ways, a spell-like ability functions just like a spell.

Spell-like abilities are subject to spell resistance and dispel magic. They do not function in areas where magic is suppressed or negated. Spell-like abilities cannot be used to counterspell, nor can they be counterspelled.

My other post was from the glossary. Before these sections(magic chapter and glossary) did not say the same thing. Now they do. There is no rule that says they can be countered anymore.

Sczarni

So they are still printing the Core rulebook with the error on page 554? What glossary? Can it be downloaded (for free)?

As I said, I downloaded the erata (for 1-4.0, 2-4.0, 3-4.0, 4-4.0...etc..) No erata changes to this page were noted anywhere in there...


This is a link from a post when the contradiction was discovered, back in May 2010.
Link to when the contradiction existed.


maouse wrote:
So they are still printing the Core rulebook with the error on page 554? What glossary? Can it be downloaded (for free)?

The Pathfinder PRD has the errata, and any new books should also have the correct wording. My PDF version had the correct wording a long time ago.

It can't be downloaded, but is officially made by Paizo, and it is free. If you recently got your book from someone other than Paizo(Amazon.com as an example) you might have gotten an older edition of the book.

Sczarni

OK, only issue I have is that the PRD has NOT been updated to reflect the ERATA - the last work is "gained" in the erata; "granted" just like a good old cut and paste from the book on the PRD. Which really solves nothing for me, unfortunately.

But I will grant you that they changed the glossary definition... so I guess I would go with that being an update...


The PRD has been updated. I copied and pasted from the PRD.
Here is it again:

glossary which is the section that was incorrect before wrote:


Spell-Like Abilities (Sp): Spell-like abilities, as the name implies, are magical abilities that are very much like spells. Spell-like abilities are subject to spell resistance and dispel magic. They do not function in areas where magic is suppressed or negated (such as an antimagic field). Spell-like abilities can be dispelled but they cannot be counterspelled or used to counterspell.

Here is a link-->click me


I could find the change in the errata documents either, but the books, and the website both show them.

Sczarni

wraithstrike wrote:
I could find the change in the errata documents either, but the books, and the website both show them.

Yeh, I am fine with the glossary change being the "latest" to make everything agree. Nowhere is the original Appendice changed. But the Glossary and the Section now agree. So am fine with that. Honestly, as a rogue with Minor/Major Magic I am much more content with not being able to be counterspelled when I use Chill Touch for sneak attacks (thereby using touch AC with no DEX mods... wooot! Ignore armor anyone?)


maouse wrote:
1.2.3. you can't counterspell something you can't percieve... spell effects are visible even if a person is invisible. ergo you CAN counterspell it.

There is an EXTREMELY long and therefore never quite made official debate about this that can be found here. I generally agree with you that spell effects are visible due to the fact that Jason Bulmahn, the lead designer, basically saying so.

However, you still can't counter-spell an invisible caster. Why?

RAW wrote:
To use a counterspell, you must select an opponent as the target of the counterspell. You do this by choosing to ready an action.

You still can't select the invisible caster as required. Even if the caster is pinpointed, you may only select a pinpointed opponent's SQUARE as the target of an effect, meaning still not possible.

It's the identification of a spell that's being cast which is still possible from an invisible caster, but I guess the rules still want you to have a better focus on the caster as a target.

Bottom line: it's not about whether you can see the spell because you must declare the caster as a target for the readied action.


On #3 just to note a quickened spell does still have its verbal and somatic components unless you have another way to get rid of them. And simply quickening the spell doesn't make it uncounterable so on #3 you actually would be able to counter.


Talonhawke wrote:
On #3 just to note a quickened spell does still have its verbal and somatic components unless you have another way to get rid of them. And simply quickening the spell doesn't make it uncounterable so on #3 you actually would be able to counter.

Talonhawke is right! I didn't see that, but yeah I concur.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Counterspelling HELP WANTED All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions